Spicy Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
TWO THINGS TO SAY ... YUMMM YUUUUMMMM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowCrab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great tasting chili. The second time I made it I did not use the Cayenne pepper, it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This chili is so yummy! I did a few different things...I halved the recipe, used deer meat, added some cumin (about 1.5 teaspoons) some garlic powder and a little more tomato sauce than the recipe called for. VERY VERY GOOD! My hubby really liked it too. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
taste is wonderful. I am probably going to cut the cayenne pepper down next time, but great dish overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassandraJPullen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is the best chili recipe I've ever tried! If you don't like things really spicy I would recommend not adding as much cayenne and chili powder but I thought it was perfect! Makes a lot so plenty for friends and family! I do like peppers so to customize it to my own taste I added one more pepper and a little less onion but that's just my preference. Also, I used 24 ounces of sauce - I'm not sure how all the spices could even be stirred in with just 8oz of sauce. A few of my friends tried this recipe and I gave them a heads up on this. They agreed and used more sauce and said it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Our perfect chili! The only thing I changed is I leave out the cayenne (since my daughter doesn't like spicy, but I personally loved it as is) and just set out the shaker so everyone else can sprinkle in as much as they like. Without the extra spice it's a lot like Wendy's chili and leftovers (if there are any) reheat well and are great for nachos or on baked potatoes. I little trick I learned is to add a cup of water to the browning meat and it helps draw out more of the grease and even browns it faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This chili was absolutely delicious. I didn't think it was too spicy, it was actually just perfect. I added an extra can of tomato sauce as well because it was looking too dense. Everyone that ate it had seconds and left-overs didn't last long. I would definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Best chili I've ever had or made. My husband even loved it, & he's picky. The only changes I made was I didn't drain the diced tomatoes, I used 2 cans of tomato sauce, & added a little bit of water. Would've been too thick for me otherwise. Has just enough kick without being too hot or spicy. This is the only recipe I'll use from now on. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Good recipe, with some alterations for a little more spice and flavor (Note, my suggestions are based on halving the recipe) 1) I used 93% lean ground turkey, to make it healthier (with all of the spice and the long cooking time, I was not missing the ground beef at all!) 2) Cut a fresh jalepeno in half and let it cook with the chili (fished it out before serving) -- added a nice spice, but not too hot 3) Added 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes 4) Added 1 tsp of nutmeg, for depth of flavor 5) Added 1 tbsp of Italian seasoning 6) Added an extra clove of fresh minced garlic 7) Added 1 tbsp of garlic powder 8) Cut the onion in half, rather than minced inside of the chili and fished onion out before serving so you get the flavor, but not pieces of onion throughout (i hate biting into cooked onion!) 9) Added 1 tbsp of tomato paste 10) Used 1 large can (28 oz) of diced tomatoes (yes, even for 1/2 recipe), as chili was way too chunky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States