Spicy Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
good taste. I added a lot more of the spice and some chopped jalapeno to make it spicier. I do wish it wasn't so runny, I would love to keep some on the side for dipping the shrimp but it's not quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is so yummy! I couldn't find jerk seasoning so I used a jerk sauce in place of the seasoning. I'm making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have jerk spice so I used cajun and they were so yummy. I marinated the shrimp overnight and the flavor was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicianyc
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Taste great w/ avocado and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the shrimp cooked perfectly (although I think I only grilled them a total of about 4 minutes and they were done). However, I found the shrimp WAY too sweet. Granted, the recipe calls for honey, and the description said tangy and sweet, but it tasted way too sugary for me. I guess I was thinking it would have just a little sweetness like jerk-flavored food. It needed much less honey and more soy sauce or something. I had trouble with the shrimp sticking to the grill, so more than 1 tsp. of oil would help. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Scrumptious!! Sweet and spicy....and even the Hubster noticed and loved these. Very nice marinade...will definately make again. I did use Caribbean Jerk Seasoning...dont know if there is a difference or not with just plain Jerk Seasoning. Loved these, grilled perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We love this and most often use it on grilled chicken. I like to double the recipe and use half to marinate in and save half to baste with while the shrimp/chicken is on the grill. I also double the amount of hot sauce because we like things pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Yum!! Marinated precooked shrimp for 4 hours and cooked them on a grill pan. Smoky for inside cooking (similar to blackening seasoning) but I liked how the marinade on the shrimp caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were very good. We had them for our Good Friday dinner and I bought large wild pink shrimp at Wegmans that were very easy to peel (they were pre-deveined) and I marinated them for several hours. I put them on bamboo skewers that I had soaked for several hours in water. My husband grilled them until they were done and I served them with pineapple coleslaw. The only thing missing was some sort of light sauce. They were flavorful but I missed having a sauce to dip the shrimp into. I will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
YUMMO! This was great! I followed the recipe, and I added a tad bit of garlic powder. My shrimp only marinated for about 45 minutes and were cooked on a George Foreman. Served on top of Bamati (sp?) rice w/ Hoppin' John as a side dish (it's New Year's Day), this served as a balanced savory, sweet, & spicy dish that was refreshing for the month of January. I can't wait to make this at future BBQs this summer served w/ pineapples on the skewer w/ the shrimp. p.s. This marinade would also be great w/ salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States