Spicy Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My family just love this recipe. Just the right amount of heat and lots of flavour. Pretty much make it according to the recipe but do not add the hot sauce as we find the jerk seasoning to be enough heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tweed, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
These were amazing, looking forward to making these again when the weather gets warm. I peeled the shrimp before marinating them allowing the flavours to soak into the whole shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this with the jerk seasoning at http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Jerk-Seasoning/?prop31=7 and it was delicious! I had too many shrimp to fit on my skewers, so I ended up baking some in the oven later - they were also very tasty. I'm definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We used a taste of thai garlic chili pepper sauce (gluten free) from Winco. We couldnt find jamaican so we used McCormick Caribbean jerk seasoning, perfect pinch. Basted throughout cooking, using the marinade, not reduced.Used lemon not lime! serevd with green goddess dressing, SOOOOO GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very tasty & simple marinade. Omitted the lime juice; used SriRacha & added more than 3 dashes. Also rubbed the jerk seasoning directly onto the shrimp first, then tossed them with the remaining ingredients. Let them marinate for 3 hours. They tasted just as good piping hot off the grill as they did at room temp with veggies. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Also used Cajun and only marinaded for 1 hour. Didn't have honey so used agave nectar instead. Spicy with hint of sweetness. Did not overpower shrimp. An all round success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The hubby and I both really enjoyed the sweet, tangy taste of this recipe. I cut the honey down by half and found it very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe, but because I did not have lime juice, I used lemon juice, and like others used cajun seasoning, as I did not have jerk seasoning. I used the exact amount of ingredients with one lb. of shrimp, marinated for five hours,and broiled these shrimp in my convection oven four minutes on each side 400 degrees. Well, these were delicious, and perfectly cooked; loved the spicy/sweet combo. This will replace my other shrimp recipe. Also, did not use skewers, just put them in a broiler pan close to fire, which added a wonderful char broiled flavor. Cannot wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This will wake up your mouth! At first I was skeptical about the lime juice/honey mix as I've tried that as a marinade from a different recipe with less than stellar results. But adding some jerk seasoning and hot sauce takes it to an entirely new level. Instead of purchasing jerk seasoning, mix together these common pantry items: 1 Tbs onion powder, 2 tsp brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp each: ground ginger, cinnamon, cayenne, 1/4 tsp each: nutmeg, garlic powder, black pepper, salt-if using (yield ~3 Tbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I could not find any jerk seasoning, so I also substituted Cajun seasoning. Personally, I really liked this, a very good balance of flavors. My husband however did not like this, as he thought that the flavors masked the flavor of the shrimp too much. (He does tend to like things pretty plain though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States