Spicy Shrimp Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellent! I had frozen uncooked shrimp, so I added them just as the sauce started to boil to give them some cooking time, then added the spinach just before the shrimp were done. I actually didn't find this all that spicy - just a touch, really - and that's perfect for me! I used canned tomatoes, draining the juice to use in place of some of the stock, and I also used homemade vegetable stock instead of chicken. Sauce is pretty thin, but I kind of like the broth-like quality of it - gives you an excuse to have that extra piece of crusty bread! I served over whole wheat fettucini and used a garlic herb flavored feta. Lovely dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is fantastic!! When I first made it, it looked really odd and I think everyone else thought the same when I brought it to the table. Now my family is asking for this meal every week! To save some time I made some modifications. Can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh chopped, can of spinach and NO butter. I don't think it would be necessary in there. The meal is surprisingly great, healthy and a great variety. I tried it one time putting chicken and shrimp in it. Oh and the mixture is a bit liquidy although a TBSP of flour will do just fine. You want it to have a little of the liquid so its not too thick. A MUST TRY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made this recipe for the first time this evening. However, instead of the chicken broth I substituted white wine (I didn't have the broth on hand) and the dish was a big hit, I loved it! I don't know if I'll want to try it with chicken broth now. My boyfriend said it was "restaurant quality". I'll definitely make it again both for the two of us and guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Changed for an Asian taste. Used Thai Noodles in place of fettuccine. Used rice vinegar instead of Balsamic Vinegar. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEEPAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
5 stars!! This was like eating in a fine italian restaurant! I halved the recipe and made extra sauce as others suggested. I highly recommend you add tomatoes to this recipe. It gave it a fancy look and added flair taste wise. I used diced Del Monte in the can with garlic and onion flavor. I used half a box of frozen spinach which was plenty. I also used white wine in place of the broth. I can't even picture this with chicken broth. The wine makes is 10 stars. Also didnt even add butter. Didn't find a need to anywhere. Added some red pepper flakes at the end and a splash of lemon. Didn't have parsely and felt it didn't even need it with all the spinach. No feta but shredded parmesan on top was delicious. My boyfriend said it was one of the best. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Both me and hubby loved it!! Very quick and easy to make. Loved the fresh tomatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The taste was incredible and low fat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The idea of feta, balsamic and spinach with shrimp is an excellent base but living with a pescatarian keeps from using chicken stock and I'm not a fan of spice. I substitute tomato sauce for the broth and leave out the plum tomatoes and skip the peppers. I use frozen spinach since that's what I have on hand and it works just fine. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Overall, a very good dish. Tomatoes add way too much liquid. I will use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I love this recipe. I make it about once a month. I made a few changes though. I use Linguine instead of fettuccine, just a personal preference. I like a lot of garlic so I use 3 cloves. I use a can of Italian diced tomatoes (or plain diced with a little garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian seasoning). I don't use the chicken broth, balsamic vinegar, or butter, instead I use a decent Pinot Gris. I don't add the shrimp right away, I wait til the very end, so they don't get overcooked (I also cook them myself, boiled in a good beer). I don't use the parsley. I wait til the spinach just starts to wilt then I salt and pepper to taste, same with cayenne. I also add a little chili pepper and red pepper flakes, slowly so not to get too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States