Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The only things I had to change about this recipe, was that since I didn't have any celery on hand, I put in a can of sliced water chestnuts. The crunch was perfect. Also, I added just a bit of Frank's Hot Sauce and a bit more cayenne pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was the 1st time I cooked this and it wont be the last. I cooked this recipe for 75 people and everyone enjoyed it. I'm a personal cater and I had people asking me for the recipe. Followed this step by step. If you want a little more heat add some more cayanne. The recipie will make more that stated so be careful. I just love "All Recipes" makes me feel like I'm on "Top Chef"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POTS AND PANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
For starters, I halved the recipe. I added a green pepper, as well as 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2. I used red pepper instead of cayenne pepper because that was what I had on hand. I did not have hot sauce on hand, so I omitted that ingredient. I also used frozen shrimp instead of fresh. I put the meal in a dish and stuck it in the fridge overnight so the flavors could blend together. I reheated the creole the next night for dinner. I was so happy I omitted the hot sauce because it was almost too spicy for my taste! Next time, I will only put in 1/8 tsp red pepper. I served the creole with a Dole Light Caesar Salad Kit and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Bland, tomato-y. Needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I substituted tomato sauce w/ tomato paste. Then I used some leftover Clamato juice, green tobasco sauce and lots of hot pepper flakes. I used 2 lbs of frozen shrimp and it was still good, My kids even liked it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Fantastic. I took the advice of others and added 1/4 c. wine, a dash of Worcestshire, and okra. My husband said it was perfect - and he doesn't even like shrimp all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was really good-but quite spicy. Added a can of sliced mushrooms, otherwise made as recipe as written. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is soooo good. I have made it 3 times in the last 6 wks. I cut the hot pepper sauce and cayenne pepper in half which was still spicy enough for us. I have made it with shrimp, zuchinni, and tonight chicken and zuchini...it's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Berish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly- but added in a pepper during the vegetable sautee at the beginning. Delicious and spicy! I served this over rice. Thanks for a good recipe! I imagine this would be good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Love this recipe! It is very authentic. I followed the recipe almost exactly except that I used fire-roasted diced tomatoes, which I highly recommend. Also, I found that even on medium low heat, the shrimp didn't take fifteen minutes to cook. Probably closer to five minutes. I didn't think it was to spicy at all, but I love hot and spicy food, so that may not be saying much. This recipe is great served by itself or over rice. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States