Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
That was great! My boyfriend said it reminded him of being back home on the bayou. I followed suggestions from some of the others. I added one chopped green bell pepper. I used one 8 oz can of tomato paste, 1 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes and one 14.5 oz can of rotel. I didn't really measure the spices. Just dumped in cayenne and tabasco until it looked about right. I let it cook in the slow cooker on low for 6 hours and then added the shrimp and let it cook another 2 hours. It was perfect and pretty spicy. Thanks Pamela, I've been looking for some recipes that would taste like dishes my boyfriend used to eat in Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Very good recipe. I added yellow,green and red peppers for color.Also one can of rotel. Needed a little extra sugar. Was easy to make ahead, and add shrimp at last minute.Thanks Pamela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This had a good consistency and spiciness. Next time, however, I'll add a chopped green pepper, and maybe reduce the tomato sauce to one 8 oz. can, so there'll be a slightly higher shrimp-to-sauce ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Fantastic recipe I did add more caynne, and used 3 garlic cloves, 1/2 teas. basil.and 1/2 diced onion. mmm,mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Personally, I think the proportions were way off on this recipe. I changed to 1/2 cup celery, 1/2 cup onion and half cup diced bell pepper. Otherwise, the dish tasted entirely of celery. I also substituted on can Ro-Tel for one can of crushed tomatoes. And I ommited the flour....I thought it made the sauce too pasty. Also garnished with minced parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I only have one word to describe it. Fabulous! I did add some oregano and crushed bay leaves but other that, it pleased my picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Quite tasty, but next time I will try the cajun tomatoes as other cooks did. I also might cook the celery a little more- mine was too crunchy. We liked the amount of cayenne- spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Loved it! My husband really loved it. He loves spicy food so I doubled the Cayenne pepper and used Habenero Pepper sauce....and tons of it. He was in heaven. Not to mention that this recipe is actually rather heathly. What more could I want! Definitely use fresh shrimp if you can...I used half fresh and half left over frozen cooked shrimp I already had on hand and the fresh shrimp really did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States