Spicy Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
That was great! My boyfriend said it reminded him of being back home on the bayou. I followed suggestions from some of the others. I added one chopped green bell pepper. I used one 8 oz can of tomato paste, 1 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes and one 14.5 oz can of rotel. I didn't really measure the spices. Just dumped in cayenne and tabasco until it looked about right. I let it cook in the slow cooker on low for 6 hours and then added the shrimp and let it cook another 2 hours. It was perfect and pretty spicy. Thanks Pamela, I've been looking for some recipes that would taste like dishes my boyfriend used to eat in Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Very good recipe. I added yellow,green and red peppers for color.Also one can of rotel. Needed a little extra sugar. Was easy to make ahead, and add shrimp at last minute.Thanks Pamela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This had a good consistency and spiciness. Next time, however, I'll add a chopped green pepper, and maybe reduce the tomato sauce to one 8 oz. can, so there'll be a slightly higher shrimp-to-sauce ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Fantastic recipe I did add more caynne, and used 3 garlic cloves, 1/2 teas. basil.and 1/2 diced onion. mmm,mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Personally, I think the proportions were way off on this recipe. I changed to 1/2 cup celery, 1/2 cup onion and half cup diced bell pepper. Otherwise, the dish tasted entirely of celery. I also substituted on can Ro-Tel for one can of crushed tomatoes. And I ommited the flour....I thought it made the sauce too pasty. Also garnished with minced parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I only have one word to describe it. Fabulous! I did add some oregano and crushed bay leaves but other that, it pleased my picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Quite tasty, but next time I will try the cajun tomatoes as other cooks did. I also might cook the celery a little more- mine was too crunchy. We liked the amount of cayenne- spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Loved it! My husband really loved it. He loves spicy food so I doubled the Cayenne pepper and used Habenero Pepper sauce....and tons of it. He was in heaven. Not to mention that this recipe is actually rather heathly. What more could I want! Definitely use fresh shrimp if you can...I used half fresh and half left over frozen cooked shrimp I already had on hand and the fresh shrimp really did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States