Spicy Shrimp (Chingri Maach) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Added water and a couple dollups of yogurt to make a little gravy. Tried it both with uncooked and pre-cooked shrimp, I preferred the uncooked. Will make again and again and again - easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
The first time I fixed this, my family was so impressed! I've fixed it several times since. The only change I have made is adding some spicy curry powder. Tastes very fresh with the fresh cilantro. Great over rice with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was very good. I added some chopped green bell pepper and summer squash. Served with naan, basmatic & wild rice mix (Trader Joe's) and a store-bought mango chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good. I made it with a bit of yogurt and no water. Served with naan. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Truly excellent! I will definitely be making this again. I used Saffron since I accidentally didn't have tumeric -- that, I will do again. I would recommend using more garlic paste and, if you like spicy food, definitely include both peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Made this with my sister-in-law for my Bengali husband. We didn't change anything except put in 1tbs sour cream at the end (instead of the yogurt suggested, didn't have any). Aunthentic and yummy! Be careful with the peppers, it really does add kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasreen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very tasty. I did add the yogurt as Saira suggested (could tell while making it that it would really add to it). Was spicy and flavorful but not too hot. Good for those who want to try something different but concerned about the heat. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This recipe is an original! True bengali cooking for people who love spices. I like to add a little more turmeric (about 1/2 tsp) and if you really like spice, I add 1 hot pepper (the kind you find at Indian grocery stores.) If you like the sauce very thick, add 1 tbs yogurt and let simmer instead of water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
my 4 children (ages 7, 9, 13 & 19) really enjoyed this dish. will make it part of regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States