Spicy Shrimp and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great flavor and really easy to make. I put it over rice and it was delicious. Next time I think I'll leave out the water to make it thicker and more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Wow! Awesome Magic Dish for Shrimp Lovers! My new favorit Shrimp dish. I love Spicy but preparing this for my daughter will force me to avoid the "chili tomates".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
super easy... tasty.. !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Its the best recipe ever!!! i made it for my mum for mothers day and she loved it!!! whoever invented this recipe is genius! :p =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very, very good....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triesall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This soup was sooo easy to make! I don't consider myself a good cook, but this soup came out delicious! I omitted the pepper and used whole canned plum tomatoes. I will be making this soup anytime I have shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Have made this many times, often quadrupling the serving size to have extra to freeze. It gets even better with the addition of sausage (I use turkey sausage, but any other type would be delicious as well), and I love garlic so I add much more than the amount listed here. I also am a huge bean fan so I like a denser soup that gives a heap of beans in every bite in addition to broth, and I typically add one extra can of beans for every can of tomatoes/mushroom soup (usually red beans or something that will give a bit more color). The best way to enjoy this is to get the tomatoes, beans, and soup started simmering and dump in frozen/pre-peeled cooked shrimp, and let it all slowly heat while you saute the celery, onions, and garlic. Then dump the saute into the pot and keep on low-medium heat so all the flavors sufficiently diffuse and the shrimp slowly cook...then put it away and let it refrigerate overnight. This condenses the flavors even more, allowing the garlic and spice to really infuse the broth, and it just gets even better and more flavorful the longer it sits. Have even considered adding a can of corn to complement the sweetness of the sausage. This is just such an intensely deep recipe if you allow all the flavors to meld together long enough -- don't eat it the same day you cook it, as a general rule. Also helps if you cut back on the amount of water added to make a thicker and more intense broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Loved the thicker consistency. I used Old Bay and dried cilantro instead of the dill (not measuring either) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was REALLY good! My husband had it the next day again for lunch and said that the flavors were still distinct and it was even better. I had used the little popcorn salad shrimps that were frozen, and so the shrimps added a little more water than I would have liked. So if adding frozen shrimp, reduce the water to a half cup. It's not too thick, it works well. This is going in my fav's file for sure. And super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States