Spicy Shrimp and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Have made this many times, often quadrupling the serving size to have extra to freeze. It gets even better with the addition of sausage (I use turkey sausage, but any other type would be delicious as well), and I love garlic so I add much more than the amount listed here. I also am a huge bean fan so I like a denser soup that gives a heap of beans in every bite in addition to broth, and I typically add one extra can of beans for every can of tomatoes/mushroom soup (usually red beans or something that will give a bit more color). The best way to enjoy this is to get the tomatoes, beans, and soup started simmering and dump in frozen/pre-peeled cooked shrimp, and let it all slowly heat while you saute the celery, onions, and garlic. Then dump the saute into the pot and keep on low-medium heat so all the flavors sufficiently diffuse and the shrimp slowly cook...then put it away and let it refrigerate overnight. This condenses the flavors even more, allowing the garlic and spice to really infuse the broth, and it just gets even better and more flavorful the longer it sits. Have even considered adding a can of corn to complement the sweetness of the sausage. This is just such an intensely deep recipe if you allow all the flavors to meld together long enough -- don't eat it the same day you cook it, as a general rule. Also helps if you cut back on the amount of water added to make a thicker and more intense broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Very easy to make and a nice flavor. I served it over angel hair pasta and used more shrimp than it said because I was using up a bag of frozed pre-cooked shrimp. A bit spicy for the kids, but the husband added tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Wow! Awesome Magic Dish for Shrimp Lovers! My new favorit Shrimp dish. I love Spicy but preparing this for my daughter will force me to avoid the "chili tomates".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We wanted a hot & spicy soup, and adapted this recipe accordingly. Turned out even better than expected. Made the following changes; 1/2 large sweet onion, chopped for green onions, 1 can RoTel Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros for diced tomatoes w/ green chilies, beef broth for water, condensed golden mushroom soup for cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 lb. shrimp/1/2 lb. sea scallops/Aidell’s Chicken & Apple sausage, 3 links for 12 ounces shrimp. The scallops, shrimp, and sausage were first rubbed w/ Badia Blackened Redfish seasoning (‘Blackened Seasoning Mix’ from this site or some other seafood rub you prefer also works), and then seafood and sausage were sautéed separately from the broth given different cooking times for each. The seafood/sausage was added to the soup after it finished cooking, and allowed to rest for 10 or so minutes. This soup is hot and spicy so it would not be suitable for some, especially young children. This goes toward the top of our list of most favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very, very good....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triesall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great flavor and really easy to make. I put it over rice and it was delicious. Next time I think I'll leave out the water to make it thicker and more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Its the best recipe ever!!! i made it for my mum for mothers day and she loved it!!! whoever invented this recipe is genius! :p =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
super easy... tasty.. !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My husband really liked this. I made a few changes and would have to say this is one of the best shrimp recipes I've tried. And I am not a big fan of shrimp, so that is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States