Spicy Shrimp and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Have made this many times, often quadrupling the serving size to have extra to freeze. It gets even better with the addition of sausage (I use turkey sausage, but any other type would be delicious as well), and I love garlic so I add much more than the amount listed here. I also am a huge bean fan so I like a denser soup that gives a heap of beans in every bite in addition to broth, and I typically add one extra can of beans for every can of tomatoes/mushroom soup (usually red beans or something that will give a bit more color). The best way to enjoy this is to get the tomatoes, beans, and soup started simmering and dump in frozen/pre-peeled cooked shrimp, and let it all slowly heat while you saute the celery, onions, and garlic. Then dump the saute into the pot and keep on low-medium heat so all the flavors sufficiently diffuse and the shrimp slowly cook...then put it away and let it refrigerate overnight. This condenses the flavors even more, allowing the garlic and spice to really infuse the broth, and it just gets even better and more flavorful the longer it sits. Have even considered adding a can of corn to complement the sweetness of the sausage. This is just such an intensely deep recipe if you allow all the flavors to meld together long enough -- don't eat it the same day you cook it, as a general rule. Also helps if you cut back on the amount of water added to make a thicker and more intense broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I had searched for a recipe with shrimp and fresh dill and thought this sounded easy and tasty. While it was definitely easy to make, I actually was disappointed in this recipe. The only thing I did differently was that I didn't have celery and I used tomatoes with green peppers and onions and added a can of green chiles. I took the suggestion of serving this over rice. I thought it was bland. I tried adding tobasco sauce, which helped a little, but this just didn't have enough flavor for me. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This soup was sooo easy to make! I don't consider myself a good cook, but this soup came out delicious! I omitted the pepper and used whole canned plum tomatoes. I will be making this soup anytime I have shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Wow! Awesome Magic Dish for Shrimp Lovers! My new favorit Shrimp dish. I love Spicy but preparing this for my daughter will force me to avoid the "chili tomates".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very, very good....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triesall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Its the best recipe ever!!! i made it for my mum for mothers day and she loved it!!! whoever invented this recipe is genius! :p =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
super easy... tasty.. !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great flavor and really easy to make. I put it over rice and it was delicious. Next time I think I'll leave out the water to make it thicker and more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
So simple, yet so good. Since I don't like spicey food, I used tomatos without the chilis and substituted red bell peppers for the green onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States