Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My in laws loved it, only thing it was soupy and I even drained the rotel.. I also added some creole seasoning to the top and on the shrimp. The shrimp were already cooked from the store and so I only cooked for 10 minutes, didn't want the shrimp overcooked and be chewy. I didn't use the whole 1 pepper only a portion since it was diced up, looked like too much pepper if you used the whole thing.. just use your judgement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I have never made anything like this before and my southern friends LOVE this recipe. Followed it exactly as written. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was great. I will make it again. I only used 3 cups of chicken broth and it did not take 20 minutes to cook the grits, more like 5. Everything else I left the same. Next time might add a little old bay to the mix. Was really good and would def make again. Even my 2 year old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristyLC
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was looking for a great shrimp & grits recipe & this delivered! I made the recipe with ingredients/amounts exactly as written, I only changed the presentation. My first southern taste of this dish was served with the shrimp mixture over a layer of grits, so that's how I served it, omitting baking it as my grits were not runny at all as others had mentioned. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I added some turmeric for color and flavor and used snipped sun dried tomatoes so I had a nice thick consistency. I wish I would have added some cayenne pepper as I like my food spicy and the title of this was misleading. also used roasted red peppers from a jar instead of green peppers. Can be eaten after the combining in saucepan but I like the crust that baking gave it! Good enough for company or a Pot Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was good but for as much cheese was in it I thought it would have more flavor. I might add bacon next time and reduce the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Easy to make gluten- free. We used 1 1/3 cups Bobs Red Mill G-Free Cornmeal instead of quick cooking grits. We also used homemade stock from smoked chicken... The smoke adds a dimension that defies description. Be careful not to over cook the shrimp. Mine were pretty much still raw when I combined everything with the grits and they came out of the oven perfect. I will make this for guests. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I use this recipe all the time when entertaining. It is easy and delicious! William A put together a must-make. I made a few adjustments based on reading the comments and what I could find to cut down on prep work for this delicious recipe. 3 cups of low-sodium chicken broth and I buy the pre-diced pepper mix from Publix (tri-color mix). I also use the Publix Medium frozen peeled, deveined and de-tailed medium shrimp that is roughly 1.5 lbs. I use a spicy Rotel and I would recommend also draining. Five Stars guaranteed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
First time I ever cooked this. It was excellent. The only alteration I had made was that I added smoked bacon, diced, and sautéed it with the vegetables. I also drained to juice from the can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I was nervous that this recipe was "too simple" to be good, boy was I wrong! Very tasty dish, my husband exclaimed it was the best thing he has ever tasted! I made some slight modifications, added some old bay and used some parmesean cheese in addition to a bag of shredded. Also, be sure to use a can of Rotell tomatoes, they added a lot of flavor. My grits were a tad runny, so next time I will thicken them up a bit. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States