Spicy Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
These were good. I didn't have monterey jack cheese on hand, but used processed cheese cube instead. I also used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onions instead of the ones with green chiles. I seasoned my shrimp with garlic powder, cajun spice, lemon zest, and cayenne pepper to get the spice effect. It all came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Wow! Being New Englanders, my family and I have never really thought to eat grits. After a recent trip to the South where I ate grits for the first time (at a Waffle House, of course!), I was inspired to make this. My two kids devoured this dish - practically licked the bowl clean! And my son usually doesn't like casseroles or things mixed together! I followed the recipe completely except that I didn't have the canned tomatoes so I used medium salsa, which I scooped out using a fork so that I didn't get too much liquid. Thanks, William! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Had to make this for three different groups of people - within a month. This is my quick go-to recipe that everyone absolutely loves. Easy to make and way too tasty to be true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was amazing. Even my kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I cut the recipe in half and only adjusted from the reviews and my taste. I didn't add garlic as its not a flavor that I like and no salt because of my health but followed the rest. I did enjoy the flavor, but I think this will be the only time that I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
very good, added Cajun seasoning as many recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
We haven't tried this yet, but Jenny has and recommended it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Spicy, but so easy and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I've made a lot of Shrimp and Grits but never "casserole style" until I read the reviews and decided to try this recipe last night. It wasn't as visually appealing as the composed version, but was FAR better than I expected and I'll definitely make it again! Using what I had on hand, I slivered half a yellow onion and subbed it for the scallions, and added two fresh diced jalapenos. I drained the RoTel into a glass measuring cup and then added the broth...I actually used leftover seafood stock and the flavor was fantastic. I was afraid that baking for 40 minutes would make the shrimp rubbery but it didn't. The end result was creamy (not soupy) and I served it in shallow pasta bowls, topped with fresh chopped flat leaf parsley. Delicious comfort food that's not too heavy -- a perfect weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Fantastic depth of flavor for minimal effort. I tossed in a cup of baby spinach to add leafy greens to the mix, which worked perfectly. Gluten free yumminess and a definite repeat menu item in Coach Pete's kitchen. One of the best Internet recipes I have made in years. Pow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States