Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I actually made this in the crockpot so I cut back on canned tomatoes. It turned out really good. Next time I will add jalapeno to give it more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was great. I added some diced jalapeños. I also hade to simmer longer because it wasn't thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msyoung

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This definitely has possibilities, but as the recipe stands it needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was so delicious. Whereas some reviewers say to not over-do the cumin, I tripled it and then added a dash or two more. I would suggest some kind of hot sauce - or maybe some cayenne pepper. This is a great recipe to make in bulk (5 lbs +) and freeze the extras. I was a little concerned during the cooking, as it didn't "look" how I thought it was going to. But by the time the two hours was up - it looked and smelled perfect! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I loved this shredded beef! I could tell it wasn't going to be that spicy, so I added powdered cayenne pepper and chili powder along with the cumin. I used 4 garlic cloves instead of one, and I used diced tomatoes with green chiles. I only needed an hour and a half for the meat to become so tender that I almost didn't even need to shred it with forks. I served this on corn tortillas with all of the taco fixings. I love that this recipe only used a pound of meat, rather than the 3 or 4 pound roasts others use (with only two people eating, it makes it hard to finish what one of those recipes yields). This is so much better than ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Man, this is fabulous !! I can't list the number of different things you can do with this. We loved it so much after trying it the first time, that the next time I did 5 pounds of beef, shredded it and froze it. Every time I wanted to make tacos, chimis, sloppy joes...anything...I'd just grab a bag out of the freezer. It's really versatile and my family (5 teenagers) loves it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Very good ! The night before I had BBQ a pork loin roast with a dry rub of brown sugar and red pepper flakes and such. I pulled the pork and used it in the recipe instead of the beef. It was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Shelah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Yum! I used an 1-lb beef arm roast, and added a lot more garlic, cayenne pepper, a small can of diced jalapenos, and used Rotel instead of plain tomatoes as someone else suggested. I also shredded it with forks while still hot in the pan instead of waiting for it to cool. It was fabulous! This recipe is going to become a staple at our house! I plan to try it again tomorrow with pork and BBQ seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCLYNND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Good stuff...I also added Rotel, we all like spice. I cooked it the full 2 hours, on low. I had NO problems with drying out, and never added liquid. Could be the seal on my pan and lid, or could be that the lid is glass, so I didn't have to keep opening to check. Anyway, will be a staple. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States