Spicy Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent! I doubled the cumin and used diced tomatoes with green chilies. I browned the meat, added the spices, then dumped everything in my slow cooker. Cooked on low for 4 hours and the meat was cooked perfectly. I took the cover off for a little while after that and let the liquid evaporate. Loved it, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. I get tired of the same old things but my kids don't always like to have me monkey with the tried and true. This was excellent. I used stewed tomatoes so they had bell peppers and onions in them or I would have added them. I prefer spicey to hot, but I did add a healthy dose of black pepper and I thought this was excellent as is. Rotel would add nice heat. I used an eye of round roast that I cubed. It is very lean and can be tough, but after a couple of hours simmering, I didn't need a fork to shred it. Used the back of a wooden spoon and it broke apart. Allowed it to simmer with the lid off for a few minutes and I had a multipurpose filling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We enjoyed this beef. It really isn't that spicy at all. I used a can of diced tomatoes with chile peppers. I think i will add something to spice it up a bit next time. Maybe some green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was outrageous !!! It was the first time I have made pulled beef. My husband loved it. He said he will not eat burritos out anymore. I do what some others recommended. I added cayenne pepper and Chili Powder. It was excellent and soooooo easy. Great Recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight because we love Mexican food. I made 3lbs and the whole family loved it. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the great recipe. I will pass it on to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
SOOOOO Good! Here in Southern-California, there are quite a few good, family recipes people swear by. The only change I made to this recipe is using beef broth instead of water when cooking the beef to tenderize. I finally found a recipe I can proudly share with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This receipe is so good! I've made it many times since discovering it a few months ago. I made some changes after reading other reviews. I usually double the amount of garlic, chop up a fresh (seeded) jalapeno and add it with the can of tomatoes (I use tomatoes canned with diced jalapenos), I add about 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder and red pepper flakes when adding the cumin and salt. We like it spicy, and this recipe certainly is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was an awesome way to use up chuck steak! I read the reviews about it not being spicy, so I used some cayenne and 3 chipotle peppers-I had never used them before, and they didn't smell spicy, but boy did it spice it up! Whew!! I cooked the meat for about 3-4 hours and I was skeptical about it being tender, because it still seemed tough when I tried to break it apart with the spoon, but after I cooled it, it was completely fork tender and shredded perfectly! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was a huge hit!!! I upped the heat by adding about 1/2 tsp cheyanne and substituted the canned tomatoes with canned tomatoes with green chilis. One more tip you don't need to cut the meat down into 1" cubes I'd go with about 2 - 3 inches it will make shredding easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe is the best ever! We have it all the time. A lot of times I double it, and save half in the freezer. Sometimes I don't actually shred the beef, and I keep it chunks, its good that way too. I have also once used ground beef, because I didn't have the roast on hand. It was just as good...but you still have to cook it just as long, for that good yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States