Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Quite good - got rave reviews at Super Bowl party. Giving 4 stars because, as many other reviewers noted, some tweaks can make this recipe better. I usually follow a first time recipe as written which I did with this one. It was really tasty and rich but I tend to agree with other reviewers who said it was a little too mayonnaise-y. I used canned shrimp and canned crab meat and had no problem with that at all. I also used prepared phyllo mini tarts as the recipe noted. I live in a major market and found these in my local grocery store but they may not be available everywhere. Lastly, I definitely would kick it up a notch with more hot sauce and red pepper flakes. Personal preference. Overall, very good and with some minor changes..a 5-star recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Loved this recipe! I did a little tweaking to it, such as using frozen shrimp, chopped up and imitation crab rather than using stunfortunately from cans. I also used wonton wrappers because I couldn't find phyllo dough. I have made them on two different occasion and they were a hit! I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
These weren't spicy. I would add some extra heat if you like spicy. To me the mayo was over bearing. I will decrease it next time. All in all very good, just very rich. Can't eat to many at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Outstanding recipe. It was a hit at my Christmas Eve get together. Even my friend who is comparable to a chef requested the recipe. Not one for canned seafood, I used fresh shrimp and imitation crabmeat (a first for me but small portions of crab unavailable). I also used the pre-made phyllo shells. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
this is a good recipe but i suggest using a little less mayo, i also used refrigerated biscuits,delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These were a big hit. I used puff pastry in cupcake tins. Switched 4oz of light cream cheese plus approx.3/4 c of mayo for the mayo. added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and switched and used approx. 4 tsp of chipotle hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec6815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Murdock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These were great! Didn't change anything in the recipe, however, I served them in little phyllo shells and sprinkled Old Bay on top instead of paprika. They were a huge hit on our Easter buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Love these!! Easy and delicious. They go fast at parties. I can fill 60 frozen fillo cups with this receipe. Tweek the hot pepper more or less to your taste. I find that 10 drops doesn't make it very spicey at all, so I add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Was sllightly disappointed..I usually love shrimp and crab...maybe it was the the mayo? Not too sure...I will have to experiment with it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I liked this recipe, but I tweaked it a bit. I used cream cheese instead of mayonnaise as 1 reviewer suggested. I also used Gruyerre cheese (hope I spelled that right) instead of swiss cheese. I used fresh shrimp and canned crabmeat. The crabmeat kind of gave it a fishy taste that i didn't like. So next time I may use all fresh shrimp or if i do add crabmeat it will have to be fresh. But this was a very good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States