Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was a hit! I did follow other's suggestions and added Old Bay and crushed pepper chips. I made these along with the Spinach Phyllo cups from this site and they made a pretty presentation together. I made both fillings in the morning (could probably make a day ahead as well)and filled the cups just before guests arrived. Hot and ready when they arrived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These tasty treats were really good. I followed other's suggestion using some Old Bay Seasoning and crushed red pepper. Be sure to use fresh crabmeat and shrimp, not canned. It makes a nice presentation to any buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I used primarily crab meat and add to the recipe about 20 drops hot jalapeño sauce and Old Bay Seasoning. I only used about 1/4 cup of mini shrimp, chopped very fine. Also used green onions rather that regular onions. Also, I used won ton squares (bake at 325 for 7 minutes) instead of phyllo tart shells which I stuffed last minute so they wouldn't get soggy. Was a great hit and had a great kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trickycoma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I loved this with some alterations. I left out the shrimp and added more crab. Everyone loved it. This is just as good served as a hot dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for New Years Eve. They looked very pretty on the platter( I garnished them with cut up chives). But I thought they needed something. I followed the recipe, the only thing I replaced was green onion instead of regular onions. I will make these again, but I have to play around with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I love this recipe! It is the best, the easiest and the most impressive looking appie I've ever made. I had a non-onion eater in my group so I substitued finely chopped celery for the onions and this worked fine. (I'm sure the onion version would be even better.)I used about 10 drops of Louisian Hot Sauce and still barely felt a kick so next time I may add cayenne or garnish with cayenne. I had extra filling so put it in a small dish with a knife and crackers and it disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These were scrumptious! I made them the first time for an appetizer cook-off -- and won first place!! The only thing I did differently was to add onion salt in place of onion. The second time I made this, I used both swiss and sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
These were okay. I made them for a party and I bought a bunch of the phyllo cups to fill with different mixtures. These seemed to be the least popular. I think if I made them again I would leave out the shrimp. I think they would have been better with just the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Great recipe - I added 4 slices of minced ham and some old bay seasoning and a dash of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I did not change a thing with this recipe. Excellent, will make again. These freeze well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Spicy Romesco Pizza

This rich and spicy Romesco Pizza is perfect with a tall glass of milk!

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States