Spicy Seafood Shell Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These tasty treats were really good. I followed other's suggestion using some Old Bay Seasoning and crushed red pepper. Be sure to use fresh crabmeat and shrimp, not canned. It makes a nice presentation to any buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I used primarily crab meat and add to the recipe about 20 drops hot jalapeño sauce and Old Bay Seasoning. I only used about 1/4 cup of mini shrimp, chopped very fine. Also used green onions rather that regular onions. Also, I used won ton squares (bake at 325 for 7 minutes) instead of phyllo tart shells which I stuffed last minute so they wouldn't get soggy. Was a great hit and had a great kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trickycoma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I loved this with some alterations. I left out the shrimp and added more crab. Everyone loved it. This is just as good served as a hot dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for New Years Eve. They looked very pretty on the platter( I garnished them with cut up chives). But I thought they needed something. I followed the recipe, the only thing I replaced was green onion instead of regular onions. I will make these again, but I have to play around with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I love this recipe! It is the best, the easiest and the most impressive looking appie I've ever made. I had a non-onion eater in my group so I substitued finely chopped celery for the onions and this worked fine. (I'm sure the onion version would be even better.)I used about 10 drops of Louisian Hot Sauce and still barely felt a kick so next time I may add cayenne or garnish with cayenne. I had extra filling so put it in a small dish with a knife and crackers and it disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These were scrumptious! I made them the first time for an appetizer cook-off -- and won first place!! The only thing I did differently was to add onion salt in place of onion. The second time I made this, I used both swiss and sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
These were okay. I made them for a party and I bought a bunch of the phyllo cups to fill with different mixtures. These seemed to be the least popular. I think if I made them again I would leave out the shrimp. I think they would have been better with just the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Great recipe - I added 4 slices of minced ham and some old bay seasoning and a dash of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I did not change a thing with this recipe. Excellent, will make again. These freeze well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were O.K. If I make them again I will probably add some crushed red pepper to give some more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States