Spicy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love these scones. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the currents (didn't have any). They were great, but I did wish the spices were a little stronger. I just made them a second time, but I DOUBLED the spices and used raisins that I chopped up into bits. I also used light vanilla soymilk because I did not have any milk (I don't think this made any difference). Turned out amazing! These are cake-like scones that are (as scones should be) not too sweet. I will make these scones again and again with the spices doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are simply the best scones I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
If you like a cake like scone, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
Really wonderful! They couldn't be quicker or easier, and the smell is incredible. I used raisins instead of currants; they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great scones! I used a second cup of all-purpose flour instead of whole wheat, and left out the currants. The only problem I had was that they took 25 minutes to cook instead of 15. I especially liked the way the glaze on the top came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These are fantastic! They were really tasty the first time I made them, exactly according to the recipe except I used all whole wheat pastry flour and raisins. The second time I made them, I used an extra 1/2tsp of cinnamon and craisins instead of raisins. That really put them over the top. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnPan
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very good scones!... actually the first I've ever made ;). these were very good, and left the kitchen smelling like a cinnamon spicy heaven! surprisingly easy to make, a little bit breaddy for scones, but overall very good. I did not use milk, and they turned out fine with a dollop of yogurt and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnPan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are really good as is. I only did half the servings. And I used only regular flour and they turned out just fine. The only thing I would add is more sugar. I think the recipe could double the sugar. Didn't have nutmeg on hand, so I used cloves, and allspice instead. yum yum yum! At little hot tea and you're in heaven folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
When you want scones that are a little more nutritional than the ordinary, these are the ones for you. They taste great. And my kids liked them. I used raisins instead of currants. Next time I will definitely use a full cup. I only had 1% milk so I used that and it didn't seem to make any difference. You could probably substitute almost anything for the currants and it would be great. I'm going to try sauteed apples next time with a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My son loves these scones! I leave out the raisins and add 1/2 tsp. ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States