Spicy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These were moist and had nice flavor. I did not have currants so I used a mix of raisins, craisins, and chopped dates. Easy recipe to follow. The dough was a little sticky so I ended up adding a tad more flour until the consistency was right to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by AnPan
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very good scones!... actually the first I've ever made ;). these were very good, and left the kitchen smelling like a cinnamon spicy heaven! surprisingly easy to make, a little bit breaddy for scones, but overall very good. I did not use milk, and they turned out fine with a dollop of yogurt and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnPan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My son loves these scones! I leave out the raisins and add 1/2 tsp. ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are really good as is. I only did half the servings. And I used only regular flour and they turned out just fine. The only thing I would add is more sugar. I think the recipe could double the sugar. Didn't have nutmeg on hand, so I used cloves, and allspice instead. yum yum yum! At little hot tea and you're in heaven folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The scones were great! I like my scones sweet so I doubled the amount of white sugar. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was a tasty scone, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelazdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Delicious, simple, didn't change a thing. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I love these scones. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the currents (didn't have any). They were great, but I did wish the spices were a little stronger. I just made them a second time, but I DOUBLED the spices and used raisins that I chopped up into bits. I also used light vanilla soymilk because I did not have any milk (I don't think this made any difference). Turned out amazing! These are cake-like scones that are (as scones should be) not too sweet. I will make these scones again and again with the spices doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My whole family loved these. I didn't have nutmeg so I used ginger and I sprinkled some crushed hazelnuts on top. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Tasty, but some of them fell apart. I'll probably try these again. I really liked the wheat flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States