Spicy Sausage Soup with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I used mild italian sausage, bulk from the butcher and added red pepper flakes to the soup to our liking. I formed the italian sausage into meatballs and cooked them per the recipe. Changed nothing else. WONDERFUL! We love cilantro and thought this was GREAT! Served it with a cheesy foccacia bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
My coworkers and husband thought this was wonderful. It was too spicy for my 10 year old. I think this will be a good winter time dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
We loved this soup and have renamed it Mexican Minestrone. Based on what was in the house, we substituted consume, Rotel tomatoes, barley and garbanzos for the beef broth, stewed tomatoes, hominy and Great Northern beans respectively. I was unsure about the amount of cilantro the first time that I made the recipe, but found that it was a it was a great addition and very refreshing. Have made it quite a few times. Always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
As far as I am concerned, cilatro tastes like bar soap. This soup works great with ¼-½ cup of just regular, normal parsley. A bottle of dark beer makes it even better (in the soup, that is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Fabulous, hearty fare! I made a few changes: No hominy, extra can of Northern beans, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, and a combo of hot and mild italian (turkey) sausage (total weight 1.5 lbs). (I also needed to add more water while it was simmering to make the soup more brothy.) With some warm bread from the oven, this soup makes a wonderful winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent soup! Added some vegetables that my husband will eat like green beans and corn, and used regular Italian sausage not the hot. I have made this soup many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Very yummy. I used different beans and chick peas instead of hominy (didn't have any) but I'm sure it didn't make a bit of difference. We loved it. I used one pound of sausage instead of two and I didn't take the casings off of the sausage. Nobody noticed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
My kitchen smelled wonderful and my husband loved this soup, said it was the best he ever had. I have a request to make it for his mom. I simmered the soup for 1 1/2, and it was still perfect. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This soup is now permanently part of my make-soup-onSunday-to-carry-to-work-all week collection. Fabulous flavor, aroma. I did not crumble the sausage, saw no need and was able to drain the sliced links sufficiently. At the last minute, I found I had no carrots...but did not miss them. The cilantro *makes* this soup (but I know that some folk cannot stand the stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I love cilantro so I was anxious to try this. This is very meaty - next time I'll reduce the Italian sausage to 1 1/2 lbs. I don't like my dishes too spicy so I used regular (not hot) Italian sausage, but it was still a bit spicy (perhaps from the black pepper - next time I'll cut the amt. of black pepper in half). I reduced the salt by half and was glad I did - any more and I think it would have been a bit salty. Overall a delicious soup. The fresh cilantro is delicious in this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States