Spicy Sausage Soup with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
this is wonderful! i've made it several times and its consistently delicious. i sometimes add even more cilantro, but i'm a major cilantro fan, so others may not want to do the same. :) thanks so much for this, my favorite go-to soup in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dusti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was really, really good. I did not use hominy or beans because I didn't have any. I added 1/4 cup shell pasta while simmering. The cilantro really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN  DAUGHENBAUGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wonderful winter soup, nice and spicy. Big hit at a dinner party that we went to. Only changes I made was to put 1lb ground beef and 1lb spicy sausage, so it wouldn't be so hot. Also my hubby doesn't like cilantro (his only flaw) so I put italian parsley instead, and put it all in a crock pot for 5 hrs on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I used ground turkey instead of sausage this time and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I used one pound of sweet sausage and one pound of hot sausage and this was plenty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
My whole family loves this! It is so flavorful and hearty that they don't notice all the vegetables packed in it. I prefer chicken broth over beef and use a spicy ring-style sausage that doesn't require removing the casings. For an extra kick, try using canned tomotoes with chiles or jalepenos. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was great tasting and easy to make. I left out the zucchini and the hominy and substituted chicken broth for beef broth. I also used canned diced tomoatoes with Italian seasonings. The reason for the changes was because of what I had on hand. I will make this again and again since it is so adaptable to what is in the cupboard - and fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Easy to prepare and pretty good tasting but I did have to add a bunch of seasonings. Left out the hominy and used two cans of tomatoes. Also, I used one cup of cilantro and one cup of fresh parsley. Next time, I think I would leave out the cilantro. Used frozen sliced carrots and added a bit of white wine to the pot. Also, I used mild Italian sausage and just added some ground cayenne to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
A hearty, tasty soup. Served with garlic bread and fresh fruit, and my husband loved it. A minor change from the recipe, I used two cans of beans and one cup of cilantro (two bunches). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Thanks for the recipe! I absolutely adore this and make it often. At first I found removing the casings tiem-consuming but now it's a piece of cake. So much flavour and perfect for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States