Spicy Sausage Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
FANTASTIC! Made the sauce as written and would not change a thing. The flavor that comes out of this after cooking so long is wonderful and sooo flavorful! I used cellantani (sp?) pasta instead of penne b/c that's what I had on hand. This is definitely a new pasta favorite~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
5 stars for being easy, simple, and good! This will be my go-to if we just want to use italian sausages instead of my usual sausage/beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I didnot have fresh parsley. I subed 2tsp. of dried Italian seasoning for the parsley because that is what I had. This recipe is fantastic. Make it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
No dutch oven, just a plain ol' cast iron skillet. I made one small change. I don't normally keep parsley on hand (and I forgot to pick it up this week during the grocery shopping) so instead of parsley, I added two teaspoons of homemade italian seasoning. This ragu was cake, seriously 20 minutes it took me to make this, not counting the simmering. The end result was fantastic. My husband and kids INHALED this dish--there was NO leftovers. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We absolutely love this recipe. It's on our regular rotation. Great as is, but to make it a little healthier I use ground turkey and add Penzey's Italian Sausage Seasoning while using Tinkyada pasta which is made from brown rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This has become my new favorite easy pasta dish. My two young daughters and my husband loved it. I used Barilla Marinara sauce for the tomato sauce. That combined with the white wine and heavy cream made for a delicious, but not too heavy cream sauce. I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used 1 tablespoon of dried parsley. I will be making this again, ....very soon. Thanks Chef John for another fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My husband loved it. Easy to make and I will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Very Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Thank you Chef John! Your sauce is a hit in this house. I follow the directions exactly and it always turns out so good! Perfect sauce for the winter time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Don't Change a anything. Perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States