Spicy Sausage Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
No dutch oven, just a plain ol' cast iron skillet. I made one small change. I don't normally keep parsley on hand (and I forgot to pick it up this week during the grocery shopping) so instead of parsley, I added two teaspoons of homemade italian seasoning. This ragu was cake, seriously 20 minutes it took me to make this, not counting the simmering. The end result was fantastic. My husband and kids INHALED this dish--there was NO leftovers. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
5 stars for being easy, simple, and good! This will be my go-to if we just want to use italian sausages instead of my usual sausage/beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
FANTASTIC! Made the sauce as written and would not change a thing. The flavor that comes out of this after cooking so long is wonderful and sooo flavorful! I used cellantani (sp?) pasta instead of penne b/c that's what I had on hand. This is definitely a new pasta favorite~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This was delicious. Did not change the recipe at all. My dinner guest ate himself into a carb-induced coma. So simple - will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vschneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I didnot have fresh parsley. I subed 2tsp. of dried Italian seasoning for the parsley because that is what I had. This recipe is fantastic. Make it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My husband loved it. Easy to make and I will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We absolutely love this recipe. It's on our regular rotation. Great as is, but to make it a little healthier I use ground turkey and add Penzey's Italian Sausage Seasoning while using Tinkyada pasta which is made from brown rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
The only thing I changed was using 16 oz of pasta instead of 14oz. This has become one of my family and I favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Very Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Another fabulous recipe from Chef John. Made exactly as listed. Pigged out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States