Spicy Sausage Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
No dutch oven, just a plain ol' cast iron skillet. I made one small change. I don't normally keep parsley on hand (and I forgot to pick it up this week during the grocery shopping) so instead of parsley, I added two teaspoons of homemade italian seasoning. This ragu was cake, seriously 20 minutes it took me to make this, not counting the simmering. The end result was fantastic. My husband and kids INHALED this dish--there was NO leftovers. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
5 stars for being easy, simple, and good! This will be my go-to if we just want to use italian sausages instead of my usual sausage/beef mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
FANTASTIC! Made the sauce as written and would not change a thing. The flavor that comes out of this after cooking so long is wonderful and sooo flavorful! I used cellantani (sp?) pasta instead of penne b/c that's what I had on hand. This is definitely a new pasta favorite~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I used 3 1/2 cups of tomato sauce like the recipe calls for and then decided to watch the video to make sure that I was doing it right, and the video says to use store bought marinara? You should change the ingredients on this recipe so it won't confuse anymore people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This was delicious. Did not change the recipe at all. My dinner guest ate himself into a carb-induced coma. So simple - will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vschneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My husband loved it. Easy to make and I will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
So I come home from work one night and my husband says he has dinner taken care of. The house smells amazing, but yet I was still a little worried because the husband is not a make dinner from scratch sort of guy. I was glad he found this recipe. It was the first of many we've made from Chef John. In fact we've made it so many times I don't even have to look at the recipe anymore. I've made it with wine and also with chicken stock and a little cider vinegar and we like it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
The only thing I changed was using 16 oz of pasta instead of 14oz. This has become one of my family and I favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I didnot have fresh parsley. I subed 2tsp. of dried Italian seasoning for the parsley because that is what I had. This recipe is fantastic. Make it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Bourgoin Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We absolutely love this recipe. It's on our regular rotation. Great as is, but to make it a little healthier I use ground turkey and add Penzey's Italian Sausage Seasoning while using Tinkyada pasta which is made from brown rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States