Spicy Sausage Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This tasted wonderful! I wasn't in the mood for the seasonings suggested so I just added salt and pepper and along with the spice of the sausage, it was still good. I also made 1/2 of the recipe and cooked it in a 8x8 pan and it took about the same amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. To save time, I cook the sausage while prepping the other ingredients, including mixing eggs with the spices. Also to change it up so my daughter will eat it (she hates spicy foods,) Rather than using chiles and jalapeños I substituted 1 cup of chopped green pepper. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
5 stars for taste, 4 stars because I made changes. I was trying to use up some fresh anaheim chiles and 3/4lb of monterey jack chipotle sausage, and settled on this recipe. I subbed the jalepenos and canned chile for 6 fresh anaheims which I seeded, diced, and sauteed with the onions. I did NOT add the salt or pepper because I thought that after cheese + sausage it would be salty enough. I also used 1 cup of mixed mexican cheese. I had to cook it for 35 minutes before the egg was done. This might be because I am at high altitude. It was AMAZING. The egg cooked up fluffy and it was just a bit spicy without overdoing it. My kids all had seconds, even the picky one, and they usually have different tastes. We will definitely make this again using fresh or roasted chiles (New Mexicans don't do canned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was delicious!! Made this for Christmas brunch but omitted the jalapenos and onions for the older family members. Will definitely be adding them next time :-)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Thank goodness this tasted better than it looked! Mine came out very thin using the listed amounts of egg and cheese. I don't know if it'd have puffed up more if I'd added milk? Also, it seemed that my eggs separated as the whites were identifiable. The finished dish looked quite strange! I was looking for a basic, traditional, country kind of quiche or casserole to use up some plain sausage. Had trouble finding what I was looking for so I thought I could tweak this one appropriately. I swapped out seasonings since my family has had a lot of mexi dishes lately. Left out the hot peppers and used green bell pepper instead. Left out the chili powder, cumin, and garlic. I doubled the black pepper and added a pinch of cayenne pepper to add flavor and a little kick to an otherwise basic egg and sausage dish. The flavor did turn out pretty good; hubby and teens liked the taste even though it didn't look great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I was hesitant about making something with so many eggs but this recipe turned out great! My 13-year-old turned up her nose at first but enjoyed it very much. My 8-year-old scarfed it down with no complaints which is equivalent to "yum." This dish is so versatile. I may try spinach and feta cheese next time. I did make a few changes: - Included diced red bell pepper for color and flavor - Doubled the amount of jalapeno and added extra onion - Sauteed the veggies until fragrant and tender - Used Italian sausage as well as breakfast sausage (didn't have enough) - Added a bit of milk to the eggs and thickened with some flour - Mixed in Adobo seasoning, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes for more of a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherri
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Awesome! I made this for breakfast and it was a big hit! I have to admit I cheated a bit. I had some turkey sausage crumbles in the fridge so I used them instead of frying mine. I liked the idea someone mentioned of adding Rotel so I drained a can and layered my sausage some chopped onion the Rotel more chopped onion (never can be too much onion for us!) then added the can of drained green chilies,cheese and egg/spice mixture. Having no chili powder I used a bit more cumin and threw in some cayenne pepper. Yum!!! Going back for seconds now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe except I added some green onion & small tomatoes from my garden to give it a little more color. Took it to work for a pot-luck and got rave reviews. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdave363
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe, made this twice and it trurned out great both times. The Family loved it. Also reheats very well as leftovers. I topped with salsa and sour cream for an extra level of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdave363

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States