Spicy Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
LOVE this!!!! At first, when I saw the recipe, I thought it would be blah. Man was I wrong! I love spicy so this was right in my wheel house. I made it 3 different ways. 1. exactly as written with rice on the side, 2. I followed another reviewers advice and added the rice to the bottom of the baking dish, and 3. Added quinoa to the bottom instead of rice. I also forgot the peas TWICE but they weren't really needed. Mushrooms and peppers though, a definite must (I used orange and yellow). I also added fennel to one and it added a nice touch. I can't believe this got bad reviews. I might use egg noodles or some other pasta next time. There will be a next time. Thanks Mardi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Hello from Spain. In order to use smoked sausage, I would have to drive to a Dutch spermarket (some distance off), so I used a mixture of the local sausages. The spiciness of the pepper flakes does somewhat overshadow all the other ingredients. It looked good, tasted fiery and there was more than tenough for the two of us. Would I cook it again...possibly ? However, less spicy, I would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpainHighlander

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
made it as directed, I thought it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This very flavorful and easy, I didnt use oil and added onion and garlic to sausage just as it was getting done, then drained excess fat. Also tossed in green and red peppers! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
with many changes..top of stove version Kariann liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great and simple recipe. Family loved it. I did like the others and added rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I almost didn't take a chance making this recipe because of the huge swings between "loved it" and "never again". Thankfully the positive reviews, added to the relatively inexpensive ingredients and modest prep time, were convincing enough for me to risk it. Other than frozen peas, I had everything. The peas weren't noticeably missed and even though peas are well liked in this house I don't know that I'd include them. Using one less ingredient, cutting a little time and cost too, is considered a win. With the peas omitted the corn is still a starch, but we like rice, so I took the suggestion of adding a cup of rice but used 1.5 cups of beef bullion. Although the original recipe doesn't call specifically for salt, I found I needed a little more. I waited until right before transferring everything to the baking dish and salted to taste, (a tsp. m/l). This recipe is very good. It's exceptional as far as ease, affordability, and hearty taste. Along with a green vegetable or simple salad it's a winner in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Spicy Sausage Casserole Haiku: "K, on what planet, would kids love to eat this dish? Too much crushed pepper!" I actually reduced the red pepper and still this was fiery, so alas, the kid (as well as the adults) did NOT love this. Also, I'm at a loss as to why this went into the oven and was referred to as a casserole. Simmering in the skillet was ... well, the same thing that came out of another dish to wash that was in the oven. Besides using less red pepper, I also only had 8 oz. of smoked sausage so I subbed the other half w/ sliced squash. I also used fresh mushrooms and thyme, so I lightly-sauteed the mushrooms w/ the onion, garlic and squash. The only positive qualities of this meal were that it was colorful and the smoked sausage was tasty. I wouldn't even know where to start w/ revamping the leftovers so I'm sad to say that they'll be tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I really like this recipe and it is a staple in our house. I never add the mushrooms because neither my husband or son would eat it if I did but I really think the would add a lot. I follow the recipe pretty closely however, I have made substitutions based on what I have in the house using onions (red, yellow and vidalia) instead of the shallot. Beans instead of the peas. I've used all sorts of sausages too. Keilbasas and brats, spicy italian sausages and smoked sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I cooked this all together in a cast iron skillet. I cooked the sausage first (I had 3 brats), then added two sliced carrots, 2 slices of onion (chopped), a can of chopped stewed tomatoes, 1/2 c of frozen corn and peas and 1/2 can green beans. There wasn't much liquid so I added about 1 c water so that it could simmer together and cook the carrots and onion. I added about 1/2 t each salt, pepper, parsley, red pepper flakes and a dash of oregano and two green onions. I threw in about 1 c of leftover spaghetti sauce that I had leftover like Aly suggested. It simmered for about 20 minutes and then sered it over rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States