Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Nice easy dish made with ingredients we usually have on hand. I halve the recipe (since I am cooking for two people) using 12-16 oz sausage. If we have hot sausage, we use a 14 oz. can of plain diced tomatoes. If it is regular sausage, we use a can of tomatoes with green chiles. Very adaptable. I do like other reviewers suggested and simmer on the stovetop covered for 20-30 minutes until rice is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is good. A great little busy night casserole. Used brown rice and one pound of sausage. Tastes like a stuffed pepper and it's filling, deconstructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very simple. I altered it a little because we like Rotel diced tomatoes with red and green chillies. That emanates the need for red and green peppers. It's a very simple and fast dish that's perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I thought it looked to mild so I got spicy andouille sausage, ditched the salt and added white pepper instead, and instead of white rise I used brown rice for less carbs. Found that I needed to pull it out of the oven at least 10 minutes early compared to quoted time to prevent over cooking.With these modifications I loved it, and continued to add more spice where I saw fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alena Dvoryanchikova
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
So good! Made it for family dinner and everyone loved it. So much flavor in one meal and extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My rice turned to mush. I guess an hour was too long for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I'm vegetarian, so I used pinto beans instead of the meat. I cooked it in the oven, covered, and it seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Love it and so did my family. Made it on top of the stove in the skillet the way Bethany S. made it, which really shortens the preparation time. You just have to make sure the rice doesn't suck up all the broth, be ready to add more if necessary. There are a lot of great suggestions in the reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Good quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States