Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
What a versatile basic recipe!! May be baked or done on stove top per a previous reviewer - which I did since it's August heat. I only had 16 oz. roll of sausage to use so I added some leftover cut-up hot dogs and keilbasa near the end. Not a big fan of cooked peppers so only added one green one. A couple shakes of red pepper flakes in lieu of the cayene. Also used about a quart or so of fresh cut up tomatoes from the garden (skinned first but left juice and seeds). Everything cooked down wonderfully in 20 min. Hubby ate 2/3 of it in one sitting! I had about 1 cup left for today and it's even MORE deliious...if that's possible. So I'd say this may be made in advance then simply reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was SO good. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Leece
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My husband can't get enough of this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I read some of the other reviews before making this and because I have 4 kids i tried to eliminate a bit of the heat in this. I used regular ground pork and seasoned it with garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt and a small pinch of cayenne while cooking. I added only half a green pepper and half a red and i added sliced mushrooms to the recipe. I used about half the amount of cayenne requested. I also double the amount of rice and broth. This turned out very good and although the dish still had a bit of a kick to it, it wasn't enough that the kids complained it was too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I used whole sweet italian sausage fried then slice into 1/2 inch slices and a little more chicken broth, it was perfect, not to spicey and the sausage had a lot more flavor than the ground up type everyone loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Mine was a little dry, even when I added a little water to it. My kids decided to put some nacho cheese sauce on top, and it made it pretty good. In fact my kids each had seconds. That is unusual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I would have loved it as is I'm sure...but alas, I have kids to cook for so spicy food is out! However, I did make it very similar to this, only I didn't have long grain rice so I used arborio, and I used honey garlic sausage, not spicy, and I used diced tomatoes. Turned out perfectly, whole family loves it :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmom22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used 16oz of sausage, and was concerned that the rice would overtake the sausage, but it was a perfect balance. DEFINITELY add more chicken broth. I think 2 cups is a more reasonable measure. I used spicy sausage, about a tsp of chili powder, no black pepper or cayenne, and it was perfectly spiced to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Big hit in our house. Well make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Everyone in my family really enjoyed this dish. It made a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States