Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I also cooked on the stove top as some other reviewers suggested. When cooked through I topped with cheese and popped under the broiler til golden and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made a few changes to the recipe. I have 2 small children and they can't really handle spicy foods. So I used 2 packages of Hilsire Farms beef smoked sausage and op'd out on the red and green peppers. I used whole wheat minute rice instead of the long grain uncooked. I continued to follow the recipe as advised until the baking time. I baked uncovered for 20 minutes and added 2 cups of sharp finely shredded cheddar cheese. This turned out amazing! However next time I will skip out on adding additional salt as the smoked sausage has more sodium than what I thought. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Raquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Tasted just like a stuffed green peper, however the pepper was chopped up and mixed in. I used minute rice and let it simmer, covered on the stove for 8 minutes (until rice was done). Then moved it to a casserole dish to blend the flavors more. Baked on 350, covered with foil for 15 minutes and then uncovered for 10. Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Sub'd corn for peppers and halved cayenne for the kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
What a versatile basic recipe!! May be baked or done on stove top per a previous reviewer - which I did since it's August heat. I only had 16 oz. roll of sausage to use so I added some leftover cut-up hot dogs and keilbasa near the end. Not a big fan of cooked peppers so only added one green one. A couple shakes of red pepper flakes in lieu of the cayene. Also used about a quart or so of fresh cut up tomatoes from the garden (skinned first but left juice and seeds). Everything cooked down wonderfully in 20 min. Hubby ate 2/3 of it in one sitting! I had about 1 cup left for today and it's even MORE deliious...if that's possible. So I'd say this may be made in advance then simply reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was SO good. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Leece
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My husband can't get enough of this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I read some of the other reviews before making this and because I have 4 kids i tried to eliminate a bit of the heat in this. I used regular ground pork and seasoned it with garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt and a small pinch of cayenne while cooking. I added only half a green pepper and half a red and i added sliced mushrooms to the recipe. I used about half the amount of cayenne requested. I also double the amount of rice and broth. This turned out very good and although the dish still had a bit of a kick to it, it wasn't enough that the kids complained it was too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I used whole sweet italian sausage fried then slice into 1/2 inch slices and a little more chicken broth, it was perfect, not to spicey and the sausage had a lot more flavor than the ground up type everyone loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Mine was a little dry, even when I added a little water to it. My kids decided to put some nacho cheese sauce on top, and it made it pretty good. In fact my kids each had seconds. That is unusual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States