Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
YUMMM! Did it on the stove and it cooked in no time. Added dash of oregano, pepper, basil, tony cacheres, salt, chili powder and paprika like someone else suggested. Will keep it with my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have been making this dish forever as one of my favorite "quick to make after work" meals. But I use 5 minute rice instead of long grain. I make sure the sausage is thawed in the fridge so that I can cook it quickly. I almost always have sliced red peppers in my freezer. When I put the sausage in a dutch oven to brown, I also chopped the peppers and a large onion and fry them all together. Then I add the liquids and add a bit more water so that I can cook more rice (large family). Bring to a boil, drop in the rice, cover, reduce heat and you're good to go in just over 5 more minutes. Easy peasy! I use the full tsp. of black pepper and just under a tsp. of cayenne, but then I'm using more rice, also. Everything is cooked in the dutch oven on top of the stove. One pan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I used spicey italian sausage and added mushrooms and sweet cherry peppers (to counter the heat) and topped it with panko crumbs and shredded mozarella and parmesan cheese. It was a very tasty casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
this sounds awfully bland.I'd have to add more seasonings to this.It also has so many calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made a variation of this. I didn't have a green pepper (used a couple of carrot instead), didn't have pork sausage (used ground beef instead) and beef broth replace chicken. I'm a bachelor and love easy dinners - this was easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used Hot Italian sausage,yellow,orange and green pepper with a can of low sodium chicken broth and cooked on the stove top. I Loved it - Hubby thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I also cooked on the stove top as some other reviewers suggested. When cooked through I topped with cheese and popped under the broiler til golden and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made a few changes to the recipe. I have 2 small children and they can't really handle spicy foods. So I used 2 packages of Hilsire Farms beef smoked sausage and op'd out on the red and green peppers. I used whole wheat minute rice instead of the long grain uncooked. I continued to follow the recipe as advised until the baking time. I baked uncovered for 20 minutes and added 2 cups of sharp finely shredded cheddar cheese. This turned out amazing! However next time I will skip out on adding additional salt as the smoked sausage has more sodium than what I thought. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Raquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Tasted just like a stuffed green peper, however the pepper was chopped up and mixed in. I used minute rice and let it simmer, covered on the stove for 8 minutes (until rice was done). Then moved it to a casserole dish to blend the flavors more. Baked on 350, covered with foil for 15 minutes and then uncovered for 10. Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Sub'd corn for peppers and halved cayenne for the kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States