Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this for the first time today. Used one roll of mild sausage and one of hot. Added 1/4t red pepper flakes. Omitted salt. Added and extra 1/2c of broth. Added some mushrooms I had as extra from another recipe, too. Dish came out spicy and hot. Very good. Husband - who hates spicy food - went back for seconds. Side note - this requires a large skillet. I ended up transferring to a large stock pot to allow room for all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very good! I used 28 oz Johnsonville sausage - 1/2 mild and 1/2 hot, home canned crushed tomatoes - 32 oz,brown rice and 2 cups of chicken broth. Cooked it on stove, it took twice as long for the rice to cook, but so easy! I left out the cayenne for the kiddos, but there was still enough kick for everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was delicious, but you do need to adjust the liquid slightly, and I recommend stirring the dish at least twice while baking so that the rice on top gets enough liquid to cook thoroughly. Super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
It was ultimately delicious. HOWEVER, I cooked it exactly according to directions for 4 servings. The rice was totally raw after baking 1 1/2 hours so we had to order out Chinese that night. The next night I added a lot more broth and cooked it another 1 1/2 hours, until the rice was barely tender, and we all enjoyed it - finally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this is really very good. I've made many rice/tomato casseroles but think this is the first time with "spicy" sausage. It is a winner! I did cut the pepper and cayenne a wee tad because I added one chopped (seeded) jalapeno. I like spicy but I also like to be able to taste all the ingredients. Used "hot" Italian sausages, decased and mashed. I frequently do this type of meal on the stove top if I am in the kitchen for the cooking. The oven is reserved for when I can't be there and I let it cook by itself. In both cases it is wise, as others have said, to stir once in a while and check on the liquid for the rice. Personal preference is a moist casserole - not gummy and dry. And best of all is freezing a couple of meals for those days when all you want to do is push one button for your supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made the 30 minute stove top version, it was quick and it was delicious! Instead of the cayenne, I stirred in a tablespoon of homemade pesto sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made this last night for my family. After reading the reviews I made a few adjustments. Since my family does not like real spicy food I used one roll of Jimmy Dean hot and one roll of Jimmy Dean mild sausage. I did not have any red peppers and did not miss them. I chopped up an entire onion. Used about 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/4 tsp of red pepper. I added a can of Buschs chili beans in sauce. I prepared the entire dish in my dutch oven on top of the stove. Brought everything to a boil and let it simmer for 20 minutes. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
made this last night and it was lovely.had to use sausages that i skinned and broke up and a yellow pepper as i had no green but very tasty...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So simple and everyone loved it. Instead of pork sausage, I used 1 lb of ground turkey and two links of Adell chicken chorizo, chopped. One person mentioned the high fat/calorie content and I think my version resolved that. I did everything else according to directions, except I used a bit more chopped onion and a jar of Barilla marinara instead of the canned whole tomatoes. I also left out the cayenne because I hadn't noticed it in the recipe. I found that I didn't need it because the chorizo was pretty spicy. However, if I had used it, I would have added 1/4 tsp since my daughter doesn't like food too spicy. I told my boys they could just add Sriracha if they wanted it spicier! I knew it would be dry if baked uncovered, so I baked it as directed, but covered it with foil. It worked well and was done in about 50 minutes. At that point, I topped it with some shredded colby jack, turned off the oven and put it back in for 5 more minutes. Everyone had seconds and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
My entire family liked this dish. I followed a couple other reviewers and added extra tomatoes (I used diced and crushed) and let it cook on top of the stove. I also couldn't find my cayenne pepper so I used my crushed red pepper which gave it the spicy zip. I left out the chicken broth and salt because the canned tomatoes had enough sodium and liquid. Overall the flavor was really good and I'm not a big fan of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States