Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very simple meal I can make anytime. I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I also made it on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Have tried many recipes from this site but this is the best one yet!! Easy one pot meal with ingredients I normally have on hand. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since there are only two of us and it turned out GREAT!! I did as others suggested and added a little more chicken broth, used diced tomatoes instead of whole, chicken sausage (to make it healthier and a just a little chile pepper flakes to spice it up). It was perfect. YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Nice meal. The Family loved it!! I used mild sausage to cut back on the heat factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisterO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This had a very good flavor, but my rice was still crunchy (my error). Next time I will follow the stove top method with more broth. I used hot sausage, but will probably add a pepper to it as I like things really Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
i gave it five stars because i did a little customizing. I used regular pork sausage and added chorizo to make it little more spicy. I also added some smoked sausage cut in bite size pieces. Also fresh mushrooms. This is almost like a jambalaya dish. I dont believe in measuring in most cases especially with casseroles. So I cant tell you how much of each I added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe that I make. I use 2 lbs Turkey Kilbasa (lower in fat than sausage) and I use canned diced tomatoes with green chilli's....Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, if anything, but I did not care for this at all. No one in my family would eat it. Too many peppers in the recipe would be the consensus vote in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
this was a good recipe and would have been much better if the rice cooked. I used brown rice to try to make it a bit healthier. The rice did not cook at all in the hour baking time and with the amount of liquid used. I had to put another 1.5-2cups of water back into the baking dish and rebake. Tasted great but the rice just didn't cook. Make sure you have enough liquid for the rice or don't use brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Used hot sausage just a lb, doubled the onions(we love them), substituted ground garlic for cayene & added parsley(because I put parsley in almost everything). Put cayene on the table 'cause some like it hot. So good made another recipe for the freezer for busy pre-holiday days. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this for the first time today. Used one roll of mild sausage and one of hot. Added 1/4t red pepper flakes. Omitted salt. Added and extra 1/2c of broth. Added some mushrooms I had as extra from another recipe, too. Dish came out spicy and hot. Very good. Husband - who hates spicy food - went back for seconds. Side note - this requires a large skillet. I ended up transferring to a large stock pot to allow room for all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States