Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe is great. I added a little cajun seasoning and andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Taste fantastic! Will make again.. As other viewers had suggested I did cook it on the stove. Perfect I added 1 1/4 cup of broth just the right amount of liquid and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I just made this and made it exactly like the original but I must have done something wrong because the rice didn't cook. It was still hard after cooking for an hour. I liked the taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I used hot Italian Chicken sausage, dice tomatoes and a whole can of low sodium chicken broth. Substituted the rice with Trader Joe's Brown Rice and Vegetable Medley (barley and radish seeds add a nice crunch.) Kept the cayenne as is, love the heat! A little healthier and still very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tim
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
The family was really impressed with the flavor burst of this dish! They'll eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Didn't really care for this. To make this type of dish, in the future I'll stick with Cindy's Jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was very tasty and good but pretty spicy so adjust according to taste. The only think I found was that it took way longer than an hour in the oven for the rice to cook. Probably closer to 1.5 hours. I did not transfer mine to a 9x13 pan but instead kept it in the skillet and put that in the oven as my skillet is ovenproof. I don't know if that made a difference as far as the cooking time. I also had to add extra liquid to it before it was finally cooked enough. But overall a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This recipe is a little like my own for Skillet Cabbage Unrolls, although mine uses less ingredients and requires no baking, so it is ready in about 30 minutes. Check out my version if you are interested...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Singer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very simple meal I can make anytime. I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I also made it on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Have tried many recipes from this site but this is the best one yet!! Easy one pot meal with ingredients I normally have on hand. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since there are only two of us and it turned out GREAT!! I did as others suggested and added a little more chicken broth, used diced tomatoes instead of whole, chicken sausage (to make it healthier and a just a little chile pepper flakes to spice it up). It was perfect. YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States