Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this and the whole family liked it. I forgot to get spicy sausage and didn't remember the recipe called for 28oz of sausage. I only had one "tube" of Jimmy Dean so I made the dish with this reduced amount of sausage and used a regular size can of diced tomatoes. I used brown rice and stired it a couple of times while it baked. I did not have any problems with the consistency. I actually preferred baking it because it took just a few minutes to cook the sausage and veggies and then I could just throw everything else together and put it in the oven and do other things while it baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Great dish, really tasty. I added some heat with hot curry powder and two serrano peppers. I did about 1 1/2 cups of vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I only used one bell pepper and added lots of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was okay, but I didn't feel like it was stellar. It was nice that it was economical and simple, but a few adjustments are definitely needed. For one thing, the 1 teaspoon of cayenne has to be a typo! I used just half teaspoon after reading a few reviews and even that was too spicy. I would recommend an 1/8th. Also, I parboiled the rice for 8 minutes in the microwave with chicken stock first which really cut down on the cook time. It only needed to be in the oven for 35 mins done this way. Also, like other reviewers, I kept mine in an oven-proof skillet instead of transferring to another dish--much less clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was really good. I agree with other reviewers that it tastes even better later. I too, only used 16 oz sausage. I didn't have spicy sausage and only used 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and I thought it was still plenty hot. I might even use less cayenne next time. I loved it with a can of black beans, drained & rinsed, shredded carrot, finely diced celery, and used a 15 oz can of diced, undrained tomatoes, along with 1/2 tsp cumin and fresh cilantro. I also used 2 cups of chicken broth and fire roasted red peppers instead of green and red bell peppers. I only added 1/4 tsp of salt as there was enough salt in some of the other ingredients. I tried to make it on the stove top but I couldn't get all the rice to soften even though I stirred it often. I ended up adding 1/2 cup more of broth and baking it for a half hour. I think next time I would make the rice separate if I was trying to make it quicker. Definitely worth a try and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depew, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Based on the reviews, I cooked this on the stovetop with 16 oz hot sausage and a can of undrained Rotel. I had to add some cheddar cheese to the finished product, the dish seemed to be begging for it. It was pretty good, a nice change. We're from Texas, it was hot enough for us using hot sausage and Rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Everyone really liked this after I made a few changes! I like a little spice but this was way to hot! I used mild saugage and then added one teaspoon of crushed red pepper! I also added some more chicken stock as it cooked! I cooked it on top of the stove! It was easier that having to check the oven to make sure it wasn't getting dry! I am going to make it this weekend for about 18 people and I think I will do it in the oven! It is delicious with less spice! I couldnt even taste anything with the hot sausage! it has a great flavor with the mild and you can always add more pepper flakes if you want a little more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was really very good and easy to prepare. Cut down on the cayenne because my husband is not fond of spicy foods. I will par boil the rice first as it was still chewy after the required baking time. Looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Loved this recipe as did my family. I too had a problem with the rice not being fully cooked and will leave it in the oven next time for 90 minutes as a previous reviewer suggested. I also may cut down a bit on the cayenne pepper. My niece said it reminded her of eating a stuffed pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My husband loves this recipe. It's very tasty and straightforward. Only one deep frying pan is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States