Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This turned out great! Everyone loved it. Basically followed the directions given, used a bit less sausage and a pinch of crushed red pepper in place of the cayenne pepper. It cooked in the oven a little less than an hour. I covered the top with a can of French fried onions. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was okay. We thought that it tasted a lot like Spanish rice, which isn't quite what we were expecting. I put a bit of Lisano salsa on it, which changed the flavor a bit. We didn't dislike this recipe, but probably won't make it again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Excellent flavor...will cut back on cayenne a little. Also will use another 1/2 cup of rice for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was good. I made it ahead of time and just put it in the oven when I got home. I used vegetarian "sausage" and it worked fine. I did add a little bit more chicken stockduring cooking time, to cook the rice, but I think it would have been okay if I hadn't drained the diced tomatoes I used. I took another reviewers advice and mixed in black beans and added cheese on the top towards the end. I kept wishing I had added olives too! Thanks! This is a keeper! Kids ate too. (6 and 8 yrs old)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
If you don't like spice, don't make something with "spicy" in the title!! Spice can be controlled by cutting back or not adding the last few spices!! **I needed this to go further, so I added an extra cup of rice and an extra cup + of broth. **I had a few cups of basmati rice and used this, I cooked in pan about 15 minutes, and oven cooked for only 30 minutes and IT WAS DONE! I added a little more moisture, because I added extra rice too...and it was moist and wonderful - maybe the lighter weight basmati rice was the key to not having to overcook it. **my hubby melted a little processed cheese that starts with a "V" and that was WONDERFUL - I could do without the extra calories however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I took the recommendations of others and just cooked this on the stove top. Quick and easy, and I tossed in what I had on hand, red peppers, corn, etc... I did leave out the salt and glad that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Simple, easy to make, and I was pleased with the results. I used a red pepper, spicy chicken sausage, and a 5 oz. package of yellow rice. I also added one can of black beans. It came out great and not dry -- exactly as I wanted it so I am glad I used a little less rice. I used to casserole dishes that I sprayed a little Pam in first before baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is soooo good! My husband went on and on about it. I did as some reviewers suggested and simmered it on the stove top as opposed to the oven to shorten the cooking time because my husband was STARVING! I followed the recipe with the following modifications: I used mild Italian sausage, 2 cans of rotel with chillies, a pint of home-canned tomatoes, and 1/4 tsp of cayenne-- and it was hot. Next time I will use 1 can of rotel and a quart of tomatoes. It's really good as leftovers too (had some for breakfast!) 2 thumbs up for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Thanks to the poster who made this on the stovetop - that did cut down on cooking time. To make it healthier, I used turkey hot Italian sausage (20 ounces) and a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes w/herbs. I used water instead of chicken stock and had to add a bit more than a cup to get the rice to cook through. This was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Used wild rice, and added in some spinach as I didn't have peppers. Was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States