Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Needs more liquid for the rice, and more sausage. Also, try to put the rice on the bottom as opposed to scattered throughout. We had some rice that was on top that didn't get enough liquid and was quite crunchy! Great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumpy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Loved it. Added mushrooms and celery, used home canned tomatoes, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Stetson, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was fantastic! I used a mix of sweet and hot sausages and 2 red peppers, and omitted the cayenne. The cooking time was too long, after 30 min it was done and the crust dry. The rice on top did not cook, but became chewy (not a bad thing, but would mix half way through the cooking time). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This recipe is awesome!! The flavor is wow. My husband and I love spicy so this hit the spot. I did cook it on top of the stove and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I used a hot sausage from a local butcher and added a medium onion, diced, I used the whole 14 ounce can of chicken broth and added a 6 ounce can of sliced mushrooms and this was the best recipe. Just spicy enough. I loved it. I cooked everything in my large cast iron dutch oven and kept it in there and baked it in the oven. What a wonderful recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My family thought this was good, just an okay meal. I cooked on stovetop as others recommeded. If I try this again I will buy fresh ground sausage from butcher and add maybe beans and more garlic and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This turned out great! Everyone loved it. Basically followed the directions given, used a bit less sausage and a pinch of crushed red pepper in place of the cayenne pepper. It cooked in the oven a little less than an hour. I covered the top with a can of French fried onions. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was okay. We thought that it tasted a lot like Spanish rice, which isn't quite what we were expecting. I put a bit of Lisano salsa on it, which changed the flavor a bit. We didn't dislike this recipe, but probably won't make it again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Excellent flavor...will cut back on cayenne a little. Also will use another 1/2 cup of rice for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was good. I made it ahead of time and just put it in the oven when I got home. I used vegetarian "sausage" and it worked fine. I did add a little bit more chicken stockduring cooking time, to cook the rice, but I think it would have been okay if I hadn't drained the diced tomatoes I used. I took another reviewers advice and mixed in black beans and added cheese on the top towards the end. I kept wishing I had added olives too! Thanks! This is a keeper! Kids ate too. (6 and 8 yrs old)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States