Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a wonderful dish! I halved the sausage and added a pound of sliced, browned hot links. Boy did it turn out spicy! My entire family loved the dish, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe is super easy! I didn't cook mine in the oven - I just did it on the stove top to shorten the cooking time. When it was was then I put it in a casserole dish -topped with the cheese and then put it into the over until the cheese was melted! It turned out wonderful and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Well, we thought this was great! I used only 1 lb of Bob Evans zesty roll sausage; brown rice; 1 red bell & 2 anaheims; crushed tomatoes (why crush them yourself?); extra broth due to brown rice; and I drastically reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. since I was using zesty sausage & anaheims. We thought this was very, very good, and I will make it again. When I make it again I'll add cumin and dried cilantro to make this more closely resemble a Mexican dish we once loved. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Wow! I was pleasantly surprised at the good taste. The ingredients added up to, what I thought would produce an acceptable entree but the first bite tasted of a well balanced flavourful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I followed some reviews & cooked it on the stove top. I also reduced cayenne to 1/2 tsp & added 1/2 tsp of creole seasoning. The whole family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I made this a couple nights ago...I loved it! My husband also loved it. However he can not handle as Spicy of food as me, so next time I will reduce the Cayanne pepper by half... but for me, it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very very good! I used 12 oz link spicy sausage and sliced it. I also used about 1 1/2 cups of rice instead of just one cup and a little more chicken broth. Turned really good. Almost like the arroz con pollo from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I think this is a fine starter recipe. The resulting sauce wasn't as think and tomatoey as I imagined, but I thought the proportions were right on. I used lean turkey sausages, sliced; brown rice; and added a carrot. To ease clean up and to better monitor the rice, I cooked it solely on the stovetop. I think this recipe turned out well, it just isn't a dish I'd make for company and I am not looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe -- but, like a previous reviewer said, it's really like a stuffing for stuffed bell peppers. I made quite a few modifications based on others' input. I used just over a pound of mild turkey sausage, 2 chopped chicken breasts and just one red pepper. I upped the chicken broth to 2 cups and used 2 bags of "boil in a bag" whole-grain rice. I used a 28-ounce can of crushed tomatoes and an entire onion. I ended up using about 1/4 tsp. each of cayenne, Ancho chile powder, chili powder, salt and pepper. I also threw in 2 chopped carrots and a can of red kidney beans. Soooo....basically I did a totally different recipe :) But this was a good starting point and obviously very versatile. For one meal, I rolled this into some burritos for dinner, then used more stuffing to make stuffed peppers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great recipe! It is very spicy but because Im a "spicy dish lover" I was very happy with the recipe. I took other reviewers suggestions and cooked this on the stove. After putting all the ingredients together, I covered the pan and let simmer for about 20 minutes so the rice could cook, then served. I also used one 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Its less than the recipe calls for but honestly, I didnt even miss it. It was perfect just the way I made it. You really cant eat a lot of this in one sitting since its so heavy but that only means theres left overs! So easy and ingredients you always have hand. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States