Spicy Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Mine was a little dry, even when I added a little water to it. My kids decided to put some nacho cheese sauce on top, and it made it pretty good. In fact my kids each had seconds. That is unusual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I would have loved it as is I'm sure...but alas, I have kids to cook for so spicy food is out! However, I did make it very similar to this, only I didn't have long grain rice so I used arborio, and I used honey garlic sausage, not spicy, and I used diced tomatoes. Turned out perfectly, whole family loves it :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used 16oz of sausage, and was concerned that the rice would overtake the sausage, but it was a perfect balance. DEFINITELY add more chicken broth. I think 2 cups is a more reasonable measure. I used spicy sausage, about a tsp of chili powder, no black pepper or cayenne, and it was perfectly spiced to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Big hit in our house. Well make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Everyone in my family really enjoyed this dish. It made a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The major issue about this recipe was, for me, the sodium content. 1747 mg per serving? That's an entire day's allowance. To reduce this, I used low sodium broth and skipped adding salt altogether. I put in a can of diced tomatoes and chiles, but I rinsed it off first to get rid of as much sodium as I could. I doubled the amount of chicken broth and switched the pork sausage out for turkey, which is leaner. I needed only a pinch of cayenne because of the chiles I'd already added, threw in a smidge of oregano and black pepper, and tossed in some okra for a cajun flair. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I've been making this since I first read the recipe. I bring it to cook outs and pot luck lunches all the time. Everyone loves it. I use chourico (portugese sausage) instead of italian sausage and I add some red pepper flakes to spice it up even more. I usually make 1 1/2 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Used leftover itaslian sausages for this. Such a nice and easy recipe with ingredients that are always on hand! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This reminded me of the spanish rice I make. Was very good with the addition of the sausage. I didn't use real spicy sausage, but added a dash of cumin, chili powder, and a little extra garlic powder, couldn't find my cayenne pepper! Very good will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe which I've made a version of for years. Easy, quick and delicious. Using Jimmy Dean hot sausage, instead of 28 oz. I use one 16 oz. roll, increase rice to 1 1/2 c., use 28 oz tomato sauce and approx 1 1/2-2 c. broth to compensate for additional rice (4 1/2 c. liquid all together including tomato sauce). Also, I sub the cayenne pepper for 2-3 T. Texas Pete which provides a nice tang to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Here's_What's_Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States