Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Everyone loved it. I accidentally doubled the tomatoes but glad I did. We all agreed it needed less cigar vinegar and extra jalapeño. Hoping to can some of this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcurtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Way too much vinegar! Edited to add: It was much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I would use 4 cups canned diced tomatoes with the juice and replace the green peppers with red, orange or yellow as green can cause acid reflux with some people. Pour hot salsa into hot sterilzed jars and screw down tight, will keep up to six months or more if it lasts that long. The heat from the jalapeno pepper depends on how any seeds you leave in them that's where the heat comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very good recipe, very hot. I enjoy hot food, but husband does not. This was a recipe strictly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I halved the entire recipe, and after reading the reviews, I halved the vinegar a second time..it still tasted like vinegar soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
very runny and WAY too spicy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This worked out very well. As another reviewer suggested, I didn't add any water and simmered the mixture for well over an hour. It tasted and smelled excellent! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
The best salsas would not inculde vinegar as an ingriedient, but a salsa is to be fresh and not drowned in liquid, lest they be tomatoes that are pureed in some salsas or other fruits such as avocado or mango, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This makes great salsa, I found however that if you follow this recipe to the letter it is far too sloppy. I cooked mine for 50 mins and then took the lid off and carried on cooking it for about 40 mins until a lot of the liquid had evapourated. Fantastic in choriso or steak sandwiches with focatia or chiabatta bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derby, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States