Spicy Rice Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Very easy to make. I would cut the sambal olek in half if your family/guests aren't used to spicy food. I left out the salt because I have high blood pressure and because the salt in the fish sauce is sufficient. I added 1 Tbsp of lime juice and 1 Tbsp of tamarind sauce which helped fill out the flavours.nit definitely needs to be tossed repeatedly to keep the sauce mixed into the noodles. I also substituted marinated and baked tofu for the chicken, which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Even my picky husband liked this, and I thought for sure he would not. I used Thai Sweet Chili sauce and since it was so sweet (and spicy) I left out the brown sugar, which was a good call. I added matchstick cut cucumber, and left out the mint. Hubby can't eat cilantro so I served it on the side along with extra crushed peanuts (don't skip the peanuts!!), the more the better. I grilled shrimp to top the salad which was a great variation. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I have loved this salad for years - thanks for the recipe. I find that tossing the noodles in the dressing them laying them out on a cookie sheet topped with the veggies makes mixing everything together well much easier. I also add a splash of toasted sesame oil to the soaking water - the noodles then don't stick together and drain off the water better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Hollingsworth
Living In: Lincolnville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My husband liked it a lot! Of course, I didn't have fish sauce and don't care for cilantro, so I substituted Newman's sesame and ginger dressing for the fish sauce and left out the cilantro. Used less rice vinegar. I served it with a pre-cooked, Maple Leaf Farms frozen duckling, which paired very well and only took 30 min. to make the meal! I used half of the noodles called for, but about 3/4 of the remaining ingredients. Amounts were plenty for 2-3 servings. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent! So easy to toss together. I did boil the noddles, but that's the only change I made. Chef John did it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
The grilled thighs with the marinade was the star of this dish. I actually thought I would love the noodles and my husband would tolerate them but my husband ate seconds and I liked it well enough. I did like the texture and the idea of it all but I didn't "love it". I do think my husband will ask for it in the future and I will definitely save the marinade recipe for the chicken because that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I found it too vinegary tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Wowee, was I popular at the barbecue on Sunday! I made this great salad - it's sooooo easy and delicious! I made as is but for one thing: I substituted diced green peppers for the green onions as my Boo hates onions, but I put them on the side with some extra crushed peanuts so that people could add garnish to their own salads. This one is definitely a keeper. (BTW, Trader Joe's has pre-shredded carrots which makes it even EASIER!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
The only reason I gave this recipe even 2 stars is due to the sauce, which I tweaked a little even. Added some lemongrass, more sesame oil, and ginger. However, the noodles did not soften in the hot water, which is what I was leary about in the first place. I think rice noodles need to be in boiling water for a minute to soften correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a lovely recipe, used siracha and added a bit more sesame oil. Didn't have the Thai basil, but will use next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States