Spicy Rice Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I thought it was great! I did not have fish sauce so I added soy sauce. I didn't have fresh herbs so i added dried herbs and I decided not to add sesame oil because I want it to be healthier! Still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmen Pangelinan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Quite nice, just the right hint of spicy with the mint/cilantro/basil there to cool it down. I have bad luck with match-sticking carrots so I just shaved them. I imagine that if I didn't have any sambal in my pantry I could have just used sriracha in its place. Also, next spring/summer thinking of using fresh thai basil vs. the italian flat leaf my grocer carries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coraniaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it Loved it! Might try it with thicker noodles next time and might try stirring in a spoonful of peanut butter into the sauce. The cilantro really made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. The dressing is lacking something, maybe more brown sugar,lime and ginger and a little oil? Also, the dressing just runs to the bottom of the bowl, the noodles didn't soak up the dressing even after having sat in the refrigerator overnight. (Another reviewer suggested some peanut butter in the dressing which is an excellent idea.) It is a difficult salad to plate and eat with the noodles being so long - I would break up the noodles a little before soaking them. I did serve this with grilled chicken but I used the recipe for Shoyu Chicken for the marinade for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I really like that recipe , instead of the chicken I put shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a big hit at our last gathering. Just a lovely blend of spicy, tangy, and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Cilantro is a love-it or hate-it herb. I happen to HATE it. I left it out, and used siracha in place of the sambal. After they were softened, I used my kitchen shears to cut the noodles uop into smaller legnths. To up the veggies, I used half again as many carrots and about 1 cup of steamed edamame. Doubled the dressing and put it all in a "tupperware" bowl. Stuck it in the fridge and before I went to bed, I turned the bowl upside down to let the dressing run back through the noodles. I got n ice saturation of flavor that way and it was perfect to put in a smaller bowl to take for lunch the next day. I also had if for dinner the same evening with leftover ribeye thinly sliced on top. Nice make-ahead light supper for us. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Used soy instead of fish sauce, and didn't have the peanuts or chili paste, but it was still quite tasty! Light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I LOVED this salad! So refreshing on a hot summer day. The carrots give a nice crunch and some added texture. I love Asian food but I've never used fish sauce before and I was a bit apprehensive. However all of the flavors work together perfectly. Don't be afraid! I think this salad is going to be in heavy rotation this summer at my house. I will say, the rice noodles took forever to soften just sitting in hot water so I ended up boiling them and then hitting them with cold water and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I've made this a few times as written, and it never disappoints. We have always used chicken, but tonight I am going to try it with beef. If you like Thai cuisine, then you should give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States