Spicy Rice Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Ohhhh Chef John, you are so right!! My gosh, this will now be one of my go-to recipes especially on a hot summer day! Love, love! With all due respect, I really LOVE sesame seed oil so I tripled it (yep - tripled) for my own taste. Overall, just an amazing amount of flavor pouring out of this and I was really surprised by how much the fresh herbs added! I wouldn't think of leaving them out after tasting it. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made this and after the 30 minute wait time something came up so didn't eat until the next day which I highly recommend if possible, absorbed all the liquid and flavor. I did try it the day I made it and was still awesome. Only changes I made were I used pad Thai size noodles and added half a lime and I have almost eaten it all myself, I can't stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Very easy to make. I would cut the sambal olek in half if your family/guests aren't used to spicy food. I left out the salt because I have high blood pressure and because the salt in the fish sauce is sufficient. I added 1 Tbsp of lime juice and 1 Tbsp of tamarind sauce which helped fill out the flavours.nit definitely needs to be tossed repeatedly to keep the sauce mixed into the noodles. I also substituted marinated and baked tofu for the chicken, which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Even my picky husband liked this, and I thought for sure he would not. I used Thai Sweet Chili sauce and since it was so sweet (and spicy) I left out the brown sugar, which was a good call. I added matchstick cut cucumber, and left out the mint. Hubby can't eat cilantro so I served it on the side along with extra crushed peanuts (don't skip the peanuts!!), the more the better. I grilled shrimp to top the salad which was a great variation. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I have loved this salad for years - thanks for the recipe. I find that tossing the noodles in the dressing them laying them out on a cookie sheet topped with the veggies makes mixing everything together well much easier. I also add a splash of toasted sesame oil to the soaking water - the noodles then don't stick together and drain off the water better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Hollingsworth
Living In: Lincolnville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My husband liked it a lot! Of course, I didn't have fish sauce and don't care for cilantro, so I substituted Newman's sesame and ginger dressing for the fish sauce and left out the cilantro. Used less rice vinegar. I served it with a pre-cooked, Maple Leaf Farms frozen duckling, which paired very well and only took 30 min. to make the meal! I used half of the noodles called for, but about 3/4 of the remaining ingredients. Amounts were plenty for 2-3 servings. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent! So easy to toss together. I did boil the noddles, but that's the only change I made. Chef John did it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
The grilled thighs with the marinade was the star of this dish. I actually thought I would love the noodles and my husband would tolerate them but my husband ate seconds and I liked it well enough. I did like the texture and the idea of it all but I didn't "love it". I do think my husband will ask for it in the future and I will definitely save the marinade recipe for the chicken because that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I found it too vinegary tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Wowee, was I popular at the barbecue on Sunday! I made this great salad - it's sooooo easy and delicious! I made as is but for one thing: I substituted diced green peppers for the green onions as my Boo hates onions, but I put them on the side with some extra crushed peanuts so that people could add garnish to their own salads. This one is definitely a keeper. (BTW, Trader Joe's has pre-shredded carrots which makes it even EASIER!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States