Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe is SO good and SO easy to make. I cut the sugar in half as others suggested but otherwise made it exactly as written. I am not a fan of sour foods so I found it too tart but my husband who loves sour thought they were perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used both cucumbers and green beans. This is a good super easy starter recipe. I used half the sugar and it was still much too sweet for my taste. I also don't like all the dill bits that I have to dig through to get to the pickles or beans. That being said, they were ready to eat 2 days ago and now almost gone. My youngest child thought the batch without pepper flakes was still too spicy but I liked it. Next time I'll try keeping the fresh dill weed whole and using even less sugar. Our garden is bursting with beans so I'm going to modify the recipe and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Just opened my first jar after waiting not quite 10 days because I have no patience. Because I have no patience, I also skipped the 2 hour soak at the beginning and just warmed all of the ingredients together until the sugar dissolved and then poured it into sliced cucumbers in jars. I used exactly the ingredients given and they are AWESOME. Sweet and sour and spicy all at once. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I was looking for a different type of pickle with a little heat. This recipe is exactly it!! I made 8 jars last week and we have just 2 left!!! I'll be making more this week for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These pickles taste okay -- a whole lot better than the other recipe I tried. Spiciness was just right. My kids will eat them and say they are good, but they aren't sneaking them as usual, and the hubs actually bought store bought pickles the other day. Can't say I'd do these again, but they were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious! Nice crispy pickles. Didn't change a thing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This will be my new refrigerator dill pickle recipe! I did follow other reviewers' advice and cut the sugar in half. I doubled the amount of red pepper flakes, since my family prefers the heat. I did not add additional sprigs of dill to the jars, and we all found the chopped dill to be more than enough for a full dill flavor. Wonderful pickles! Thanks for the great recipe! I wish I had made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Yum! Used less sugar because I don't like sweet pickles... And didn't use the pickling spice. First batch was gone in four days. Everyone loved them! Batch number two is resting...didn't use any sugar in this one, and used half white vinegar and half cider vinegar...time will tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Used this recipe for my first attempt at making pickles and they turned out great! I've got a second batch in the fridge and its going to be a long 10 day wait. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sobotta
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My son declared these the best pickle he has ever tasted! I reduced the sugar as I wanted a sour pickle. I could eat the entire jar myself, by then I would indeed have terrible garlic breath! I added a bit of zucchini as I had extra, and they stayed crunchy and delicious too. This is an easy recipe with impressive results. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States