Spicy Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a new staple! I used Flounder (couldnt find Red Snapper), sherry instead of white wine, 2 large shallots instead of onion, and added about a tablespoon of tomato paste. I also used about half of the red pepper as I am not big on heat. Really great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Excellent choice,just spicy enough. Had it with spanish rice and fresh green beans with almonds. Great dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beacon Falls, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is an easy recipe and tasty too. I added two tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken it up a bit. I didn't find it too spicy. Works great with rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is a great and healthful way to cook fish. I changed a few things because I used tilapia which is too mild. I added 1 can of chopped clams with broth, used rotel tomatoes, italian seasoning, and extra garlic. The fish "steamed" in this delicious concoction and I served it over rice. My husband and 2 teenage sons ate 2 filets each and next time I must make larger quantities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizakitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I served it with spaghetti noddles and added mushrooms. I used cajun style canned tomatos and added a pinch of the red pepper. The sauce was a little too runny for me; I will thicken the sauce with corn starch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kann3140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I used 1/2 the recommended crushed red pepper...great if you like pretty spicy. the snapper was excellent. Will make again, but without quite as much zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Used halibut (a little pricier, but worth it!) which added a little cook time. Otherwise, delicious as written. Served with gourmet mushroom risotto (also on AllRecipes) and asparagus for a fabulous dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Love this recipe.I substituted Rotel tomatoes.Easy prep and cleanup.No leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I actually made a very similar recipe up with orange roughy (buy it frozen at Costco) and I add Kalamata olives as well, which go well with the capers. Diced tomatoes work just great. I find it takes a healthy dose of salt to bring out the flavors & I feel the white wine is essential to the dish. I have added a teaspoon or so of agave nectar to keep the dish from being too sour with the tomatoes and capers (sugar would work as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is one of our favorite recipes- we make it a lot. We do however change a few things. We use 2 large shallots instead of using an onion. We also add chili oil to the olive oil when cooking the shallots and add a lot more chili flakes- we like it spicy! And we use chicken broth instead of wine. This dish is great over rice, quinoa or pasta- just depends on your mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States