Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
this recipe was much left to be desired..i didnt enjoy the flavor..it definitly needed something..a protein meat of some sort. i fed this soup to a few people and we all agreed it was not a keeper. i will not be makin this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This soup is quite good as is, but it does need a little something to round out the flavor. I added a tiny bit of sugar, and that helped a little. Next time I will try adding extra carrot or perhaps throwing in some tomato. The level of heat was just right for me, but I can see how some people might find it too spicy. I always substitute vegetable broth for chicken, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I chose this recipe over some other pepper soup recipes because it didn't use a cream base. For those who are watching their weight, this recipe delivers the flavor without the fat and calories. Very good and a great way to use that summer bounty of peppers. This is also a convenient recipe for not requiring roasting the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I followed this recipe because I had 2 pounds of small red and yellow peppers that I needed to use. This recipe came out great. I also used 4 carrots and skipped the celery. I also added about 12 ounces of mushrooms. I did not puree the soup. This was an excellent soup to serve on a hot summer afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
So Good!!!! Used leftover brown rice so I didn't have to cook as long. Served with Kentucky biscuits and a green salad, made for a nice light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This soup tasted good, but I had to make a couple of deviations from the recipe: I didn't have rice, so I used orzo; I didn't have celery, so I left it out. I would make it again, following the recipe but possibly using bacon drippings instead of just EVOO for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Yum! I used leftover quinoa instead of rice and blended it all in a food processor. I'm going to serve it with cooked shrimp and topped with fresh avocado and make up some corn tortilla quesadillas for along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sandia Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It actually gets better the longer you let it sit. The leftovers for lunch were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great soup. I was a little disappointed that more of the sweet red bell pepper flavor did not come through, but this was partly my fault. The soup tasted strongly of thyme, which is not bad, but it overwhelmed the other flavors. The mistake made (I think): I had no fresh thyme in my garden and in trying to be cost-effective, I used ground thyme. Seeing as dried spices are usually much stronger, I probably should have halved this. I liked the soup enough that I will try it again and modify. And to temper the heat, I used just a dash of cayenne and red pepper flakes. It was still hot, but enjoyably so. Other modifications: I used some oregano and celery salt to round out the flavor a little after I discovered it tasted so strongly of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious! Great soup recipe, and fantastically easy! It blends up really nice and is nice and spicy. I will give it five stars, but I did have to alter it slightly to fit the ingredients I had. First, I halved the recipe, which still made lots of soup. I also used two (small) red peppers and two (small) yellow peppers. Next time I will make sure to make it with only red peppers, though the yellow peppers taste nice, the soup turns out mostly yellow. I also didn’t have garlic cloves, so I used garlic powder in their stead. I also substituted chilli powder for the cayenne pepper, and it doesn’t overpower the soup either. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States