Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe! I gave it four stars, because , like many of the others that have reviewed this soup, I had to slightly tweek it. I substituted quinoa for the white rice. After simmering for the directed 25 minutes, I added a dash of cumin and chili powder based on how it smelled. Before blending, I also added a few teaspoons on lemon juice as recommended by several other reviews. I do not like celery, so that was cut. Overall, the spice was perfect and the consistency was surprisingly creamy (given there is no dairy). I think this would actually be great with a grilled cheese instead of tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
We like things hot and this was very good. I even snuck in a couple jalapeno peppers to heat it up. At first I thought it was too thin, but the rice did a good job of thickening it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The soup is awesome,very easy to make, great flavour and texture an excellent winter warmer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bryon backhouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I loved this soup, I'm not a great fan of roasted peppers so this bell pepper soup I'll make again and again. Very easy recipe to follow and got the perfect blended spicy taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is lacking something, it's called flavor! I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Love this soup! Hearty with a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
AMAZING! The only thing I altered was adding a little more spice! We like the extra bite :) Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I feel my 3 star rating is very generous because of everything i kept having to do in order to make it taste right to me.. i cut the recipe in half.. i already knew i wasn't a big fan of thyme so i used basil instead.. and no i don't think it would have came out tasting 5 stars if i actually had used the thyme.. instead of all the cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, and black pepper i just used one serrano pepper.. i added about 1/2 lb of chicken breast that i sauteed in a pan with some season salt.. i should have stopped there.. but ended up adding in 1/4 c of yogurt.. it still tastes pretty decent.. but i think it tasted better before the yogurt.. can't say i didn't try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made this several times now. Full disclosure: I have altered the recipe based on a review that felt it lacked something; it was good, but flat. Looking at the ingredients, I felt it probably needed a little sour/acid what with all the sweet going on, so I added a lemon slice with the broth (removing it prior to blending!) and reasoned that if the peppers were fresh, why not add a fresh hot pepper, serrano, instead of the cayenne and red pepper flakes. Additionally, because I didn't have any fresh or dried thyme, I added some mint. I am really liking this soup, you should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
i have to say, i followed this recipe pretty closely. i did not have fresh thyme, so just added dried. i used the indian chili powder i have on hand instead of the red pepper flakes. this came out very, very good. full bodied due to the rice (used brown), and nice and spicy. served with some crumbled feta. other reviewers have stated there is something missing, i too have had that problem. i simmered this all for a good 45 mins or more after sweating the veggies. maybe that helped? or it could be the peppers themselves. cooking is one big experiment, that's why it is so fun! either way, enjoy! and thanks for the post QUIRKYIQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States