Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was GREAT! I doubled the spices, since we like things hot, and used brown rice. Served with some toasted rye croutons and a tiny wedge of chili-lime gouda for garnish. Raves from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very good! I was a little skeptical about using rice as a thickener, but it worked beautifully. This is also a great recipe for using up any extra veggies that are hanging around the fridge. I garnished this with shrimp and peppers, very pretty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This soup is incredible! Fresh, healthy, tasty ingredients...what else could you ask for?!? This reminds me of a soup I used to be able to get at a small sandwich cafe in DC...but they stopped offering it. I'm so glad I found this recipe! Also, I don't understand why anyone would complain about this soup being too "hot," when it clearly states that it is a spicy soup. Things that make you go, "Hmmm." YUM YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Ok I did alter the final dish, but made the recipe as is, for a wonderful base. I turned this in to a seafood soup. At the end I added shrimp, scallops & crab. It just seemed natural! So good! The flavors were restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I chose this recipe over some other pepper soup recipes because it didn't use a cream base. For those who are watching their weight, this recipe delivers the flavor without the fat and calories. Very good and a great way to use that summer bounty of peppers. This is also a convenient recipe for not requiring roasting the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed making this soup! Pretty alright as-is, nice flavors, but it's missing something (I don't know what! But I've been trying to figure it out all day.). Helpful additions were: lime and lemon juice, extra garlic powder, and dried basil - t hese additions made it a lot better for me. But it's still missing something I can't quite put my finger on. I think some shredded chicken, corn, or beans might help the flavor. Thanks for the recipe, it's nice to find one using fresh bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I followed this recipe because I had 2 pounds of small red and yellow peppers that I needed to use. This recipe came out great. I also used 4 carrots and skipped the celery. I also added about 12 ounces of mushrooms. I did not puree the soup. This was an excellent soup to serve on a hot summer afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious! Great soup recipe, and fantastically easy! It blends up really nice and is nice and spicy. I will give it five stars, but I did have to alter it slightly to fit the ingredients I had. First, I halved the recipe, which still made lots of soup. I also used two (small) red peppers and two (small) yellow peppers. Next time I will make sure to make it with only red peppers, though the yellow peppers taste nice, the soup turns out mostly yellow. I also didn’t have garlic cloves, so I used garlic powder in their stead. I also substituted chilli powder for the cayenne pepper, and it doesn’t overpower the soup either. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great soup. I was a little disappointed that more of the sweet red bell pepper flavor did not come through, but this was partly my fault. The soup tasted strongly of thyme, which is not bad, but it overwhelmed the other flavors. The mistake made (I think): I had no fresh thyme in my garden and in trying to be cost-effective, I used ground thyme. Seeing as dried spices are usually much stronger, I probably should have halved this. I liked the soup enough that I will try it again and modify. And to temper the heat, I used just a dash of cayenne and red pepper flakes. It was still hot, but enjoyably so. Other modifications: I used some oregano and celery salt to round out the flavor a little after I discovered it tasted so strongly of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I was in a hurry so I used the food processor and chopped each vegetable. When I got to the point of cooling the soup in order to blend it, we were all starved so we ate it as-is. It was fantastic. I loved the flavor combination. I will definitely save this as a recipe for when we have guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel in STX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States