Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The soup as prepared by recipe was very good--worth the five stars. I had some cooked ham to use up, and after the soup was done, I added nearly a pound of chopped ham and let it all simmer for a while. It was awfully good that way, as well, and I expect it to be even better tomorrow. I recommend about double the cayenne, and a bit more garlic---powder is alright. I also added about 1/2 cup of condensed milk, because I really like the creamy color that it adds. I do that frequently. Keeper recipe! Lotsa fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I am always looking for recipes that use healthy alternatives. Using rice to thicken the soup worked perfectly and I will be using this trick in other recipes as well. I used brown rice and beef stock instead of chicken. Also I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt and it added a great cool flavor against the spicy flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! Fresh, tasty and healthy! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a delicious, light soup before blending and is great with a variety of veggies. When I opt for the blended version, I sub one can of chicken broth for low-sodium tomato soup. It makes for a creamy soup that warms the heart! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanajean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I halved the recipe and it turned out really good. My husband rated it 5 stars. We sprinkled some garlic croutons in the soup. I added a knorr chicken bullion cube for more flavor, but everything else I followed the recipe. It had a nice spice but didn't blow your taste buds. An easy and tasty healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I added more spice because I like more kick but this soup was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a great soup and a fun recipie to play with and make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronskeiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very good! I was a little skeptical about using rice as a thickener, but it worked beautifully. This is also a great recipe for using up any extra veggies that are hanging around the fridge. I garnished this with shrimp and peppers, very pretty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Thoroughly enjoyed this soup! At my home- we LOVE all spicyness that can be in a recipe and this soup went over very well. I did added extra red peppers and cheyenne. Veggies- i made sure didnt get too soft. I served this with warmed white corn tortillas..husband added sausage (i dont eat meat). Awesome..for sure a recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe at first (...bell pepper soup...?)but I thought I'd try it since I had an abundance of peppers (red, yellow, orange) to use up. I loved it. I'll definitely make it again and pass the recipe on to others. I didn't have 6 peppers so I just eye-balled the recipe, used all of the ingredients, and it turned out just great! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States