Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Yum! I used leftover quinoa instead of rice and blended it all in a food processor. I'm going to serve it with cooked shrimp and topped with fresh avocado and make up some corn tortilla quesadillas for along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sandia Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It actually gets better the longer you let it sit. The leftovers for lunch were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great soup. I was a little disappointed that more of the sweet red bell pepper flavor did not come through, but this was partly my fault. The soup tasted strongly of thyme, which is not bad, but it overwhelmed the other flavors. The mistake made (I think): I had no fresh thyme in my garden and in trying to be cost-effective, I used ground thyme. Seeing as dried spices are usually much stronger, I probably should have halved this. I liked the soup enough that I will try it again and modify. And to temper the heat, I used just a dash of cayenne and red pepper flakes. It was still hot, but enjoyably so. Other modifications: I used some oregano and celery salt to round out the flavor a little after I discovered it tasted so strongly of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious! Great soup recipe, and fantastically easy! It blends up really nice and is nice and spicy. I will give it five stars, but I did have to alter it slightly to fit the ingredients I had. First, I halved the recipe, which still made lots of soup. I also used two (small) red peppers and two (small) yellow peppers. Next time I will make sure to make it with only red peppers, though the yellow peppers taste nice, the soup turns out mostly yellow. I also didn’t have garlic cloves, so I used garlic powder in their stead. I also substituted chilli powder for the cayenne pepper, and it doesn’t overpower the soup either. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
YUM! I had bell peppers to use up and I did not use all red ones. (I had extra yellow and green, just what I had left) The soup wasn't that pretty red as the pic, but It tasted FABULOUS! I also kicked up the spices because I love HOT stuff. mmmm, Will definately make this healthy soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Turned out pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed making this soup! Pretty alright as-is, nice flavors, but it's missing something (I don't know what! But I've been trying to figure it out all day.). Helpful additions were: lime and lemon juice, extra garlic powder, and dried basil - t hese additions made it a lot better for me. But it's still missing something I can't quite put my finger on. I think some shredded chicken, corn, or beans might help the flavor. Thanks for the recipe, it's nice to find one using fresh bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Ok I did alter the final dish, but made the recipe as is, for a wonderful base. I turned this in to a seafood soup. At the end I added shrimp, scallops & crab. It just seemed natural! So good! The flavors were restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I didnt alter this recipe at all and it was amazing. Definelty a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup is called "spicy" in the title, and several reviewers complained that it was too spicy. I made this recipe per the instructions...and was underwhelmed. There was no heat, to my taste buds, which meant that to my husband's taste buds, it was going to taste like I was serving him a big bowl of "Bland Stuff I Hate Soup". So I added pre-cooked plain chicken, shredded (because I had planned to anyway), and many generous spoonfuls of Sriracha (Asian-style hot sauce). It was still missing something, so I added lemon juice until it seemed...bright. (No, I can't really explain "bright taste" any better.) I pureed this soup with my immersion blender, because my husband-who-loves-things-spicy is also a guy-who-hates-cooked-vegetable-textures. Overall, we ate it, and will finish the pot over the next day or so, but I probably wouldn't make this again unless I had a lot of bell peppers to use up! Thanks for the recipe though, I really enjoyed making this one :) (P.S. If you want to use brown rice, just bring the soup to a boil after you add it, then turn it down to low and cook for the amount of time specified on your brand of rice's package--or about 15 minutes less if you're going to puree the soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States