Spicy Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
YUM! I had bell peppers to use up and I did not use all red ones. (I had extra yellow and green, just what I had left) The soup wasn't that pretty red as the pic, but It tasted FABULOUS! I also kicked up the spices because I love HOT stuff. mmmm, Will definately make this healthy soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Turned out pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed making this soup! Pretty alright as-is, nice flavors, but it's missing something (I don't know what! But I've been trying to figure it out all day.). Helpful additions were: lime and lemon juice, extra garlic powder, and dried basil - t hese additions made it a lot better for me. But it's still missing something I can't quite put my finger on. I think some shredded chicken, corn, or beans might help the flavor. Thanks for the recipe, it's nice to find one using fresh bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Ok I did alter the final dish, but made the recipe as is, for a wonderful base. I turned this in to a seafood soup. At the end I added shrimp, scallops & crab. It just seemed natural! So good! The flavors were restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I didnt alter this recipe at all and it was amazing. Definelty a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup is called "spicy" in the title, and several reviewers complained that it was too spicy. I made this recipe per the instructions...and was underwhelmed. There was no heat, to my taste buds, which meant that to my husband's taste buds, it was going to taste like I was serving him a big bowl of "Bland Stuff I Hate Soup". So I added pre-cooked plain chicken, shredded (because I had planned to anyway), and many generous spoonfuls of Sriracha (Asian-style hot sauce). It was still missing something, so I added lemon juice until it seemed...bright. (No, I can't really explain "bright taste" any better.) I pureed this soup with my immersion blender, because my husband-who-loves-things-spicy is also a guy-who-hates-cooked-vegetable-textures. Overall, we ate it, and will finish the pot over the next day or so, but I probably wouldn't make this again unless I had a lot of bell peppers to use up! Thanks for the recipe though, I really enjoyed making this one :) (P.S. If you want to use brown rice, just bring the soup to a boil after you add it, then turn it down to low and cook for the amount of time specified on your brand of rice's package--or about 15 minutes less if you're going to puree the soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The soup as prepared by recipe was very good--worth the five stars. I had some cooked ham to use up, and after the soup was done, I added nearly a pound of chopped ham and let it all simmer for a while. It was awfully good that way, as well, and I expect it to be even better tomorrow. I recommend about double the cayenne, and a bit more garlic---powder is alright. I also added about 1/2 cup of condensed milk, because I really like the creamy color that it adds. I do that frequently. Keeper recipe! Lotsa fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I am always looking for recipes that use healthy alternatives. Using rice to thicken the soup worked perfectly and I will be using this trick in other recipes as well. I used brown rice and beef stock instead of chicken. Also I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt and it added a great cool flavor against the spicy flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! Fresh, tasty and healthy! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a delicious, light soup before blending and is great with a variety of veggies. When I opt for the blended version, I sub one can of chicken broth for low-sodium tomato soup. It makes for a creamy soup that warms the heart! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanajean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States