Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
First: I had no smoking ANY time I've made this, and I usually cook the chicken 20 min on 500, 20 min on 475, and 20 min on 425. Second: GREAT spice. Double it and rub it UNDER the skin (then get rid of the skin - no one needs it anyway). Third: You only need to cook chicken to an internal thigh temp of 165, then remove, cover, and let sit for 15 min. If you cook to 180 you have a higher chance of drying it out (this is not bogus, it's from the USDA's wesite) Forth, and MOST important: COOK THE CHICKEN BREAST DOWN! You will not BELIEVE how amazing the breast meat is. I mean, better than dark meat usually is moistness wise. The skin on the breast won't brown or look pretty...but we're not eating that anyway, right? If you have to have a crispy breast flip it over for the last 15 min of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
947 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I was surprised this was as good as it was because of the combination of spices, but it was truly yummy. Like others suggested, I doubled the olive oil and the spices for a 4.5 lb. bird. I also greased the baking dish a bit, but realized after the fact it wasn't really necessary. Instead of sprinkling the spices on top of the chicken, I brushed the entire bird with olive oil and rubbed the spices all over it. I cooked it an additional 30 minutes because of the larger bird, and it came out perfect. I brushed the bird with a bit more olive oil toward the end as well. I threw chunky potatoes (all I had were idaho bakers, but they still came out great) in the pan during the last 40 minutes with chunks of onion, and brushed them well with more olive oil and sprinkled them with granulated garlic and salt. They were so good, it was amazing, I'd never roasted potatoes that way before. I never covered the bird or the potatoes - it was delish. I highly recommend this recipe - it was easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Great spices. I cooked this in an oven bag and added a bit of water to the bag to make a great gravy with the juices and the flour you have to add to the bag (so it won't burst) and it turned out really tender. The meat just fell off the bone the longer I cooked it. I've found that OVEN BAGS are the key to roasting meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
For those who said it was not flavorful bc you don't eat the skin, I highly recommend marinating it for 24 hours in your refrigerator. You can even do as you would a turkey, raise the skin and apply some of the rub underneath the skin. I have never once had smoking, but it is because it absorbs so much of the oil when it marinates in the refrigerator overnight. We are from LA and like spicy, so I also double the amount of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
yummmy moist chicken!!! a little hint to get two dinners out of one, boil the leftover carcass(and gizzards) for a couple hours with veggies to make a stock, add noodles and you have yourself a wonderful chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Good flavor, but nothing to write home about. Due to previous comments about the high cooking temperature causing smoke in their kitchens, I reduced the temp. to 350 and baked it until the chicken's pop-up timer popped (I used a 6 lb. roaster chicken, and it took about 1 hr. 45 min.) Chicken was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe was outstanding!! The chicken was so flavorful. My whole family enjoyed the tasty meal. I used a six pound chicken, so I doubled the spices. I put an onion and celery leaves in the cavity before roasting. I cooked it at 350 degrees for about 2 hours. It was wonderful!! Quick to prepare and very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Very good! I didn't measure the spices, just poured each, adding garlic powder, into a bowl and then rubbed them onto the chicken. The timing was perfect for a 3.5 pound chicken. I also added a little white wine and some lemon juice to the pan. It made a lot of drippings, so I made some gravy. Delicious! Will keep this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
My house smelled incredible tonight. I just knew this chicken was going to be good. I love this high heat blast at the beginning to ensure a rich, golden skin, but I was a little more laid back on the remaining cooking time, lowering the heat to 375 rather than 400. I also rubbed the chicken with butter rather than olive oil (under the skin too!), again to help with browning. Rather than the seasoning called for I used "Chicken Seasoning Blend," recipe also from this site. (I can't recommend THAT recipe enough!) I filled the cavity of the chicken with sprigs of rosemary, lemon halves and a quartered onion. I roasted it until the thickest part of the thigh registered 170 degrees, which was about 18 minutes a pound (after the initial 20 minutes at 450). I made a rich pan sauce by deglazing the pan drippings with white wine, reduced that, added a good glug of chicken broth, reduced it again, then added another cup or so of chicken broth and reduced it once again. The sauce, the chicken - simply outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
It was OK. The spices were good, but since I don't eat the skin, I didn't taste them very much. The chicken wasn't finished by the end of cooking time (still pinkish inside), although the skin was beginning to darken too much for comfort. I had to pop it in the microwave for an additional 5 minutes to finish cooking the inside. Also, there is a goodly amount of smoke involved; I had to turn on the kitchen fan and open a couple of windows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States