Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I love this spice set for roast chicken. I brinned my chicken overnight so I omited the salt, added some garlic powder and increased the cayenne pepper for a tad bit more spicy. Because I had a 5 1/2 pound bird I doubled the amounts which was just right for that size. Use my rotissereie at 375 degrees for 2 hours and it was perfect with an internal temp of 180. It was moist all the way through, even the breast and very tastey!! I wasn't sure how the taste of mixing two different spice sets, one in the brine and this one to roast would turn out but it was wonderful and very moist. The drippings made a wonderful gravy for pasta or potatoes. Thank you Nancy for posting this... It's definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The spices make for a well seasoned bird, but pull the bird at 165 degrees and tent with foil for 10-15 minutes to let the juices redistribute for a moist and tender bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
real easy great tasting but messy in oven next time I will use a roasting bag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dylansNana
Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
excellent. the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used an organic chicken and it was heavenly. Yes, they are more expensive, but the result is phenomenally better. This recipe produces a bird with crisp tasty skin and moist meat. I always try recipes as published the first time. Next time I will increase the amount of the spices and will stuff the cavity with citrus. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
perfectly delicious..used a 5 lb chicken,put 1/2 onion and garlic cloves in cavity (did not pat dry or trim) sprayed entire chicken with I can;t believe its not butter..then sprinkled my spice mixture over both sides of chicken to coat the entire bird. 500 oven for 20 mins then 400 for 45 mins ...I used 1 tsp each of: blk pepper,paprika,cayenne,italian seasoning. 1/2 tsp each :chili powder,salt,basil,onionpowder,garlic powder. I cooked it in enamel coated cast iron oval baking dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great tasting but cooking at the high temperatures as recommended makes for a very greasy and dirty oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I'm not sure why there are reviews saying this chicken is dry...I have made it over 10 times with very consistant results...meaning a very tasty, moist chicken (with no cover on the chicken)! I truly appreciate a recipe as yummy and quick as this one! My husband asks for this at least once a week and I'm happy to oblige. I love how the skin gets crisp and how the chicken stays moist...I'm pretty sure I add more paprika (I use smoked) to the mix and use fresh oregano from my garden and stuff the inside of the bird with it as well as putting it on the skin with the other herbs. I also cut a lemon in half and also put it in the cavity...but the recipe is just as good on it's own. I always serve this with dilled carrots and roasted rosmary new potatoes. Thanks Nancy for a wonderful, quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love this recipe...fix it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good, and the kitchen smelled great while it was roasting ! As others have recommended, I doubled the spices and herbs (except for the salt), but otherwise followed the recipe. Served it with a side combo of mashed potato, sweet potato and carrot, and a side of green beans. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States