Spicy Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
The flavor of this recipe is perfect. This is what pumpkin pie is supposed to taste like! I tried this once with canned pumpkin and again another time with fresh pumpkin, and it turned out terrific both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I couldn't wait until Thanksgiving to try this. It lives up to it's name and the smell while its baking is wonderful. This will be my Pumpkin pie recipe. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I doubled the recipe, and made 4 pies (I didn't use deep-dish shells). Two are currently in the freezer to save. The flavor of this was great. This may just be my pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The taste was okay, but it was still runny, almost raw in the middle after baking time + 10 minutes. I will try again, perhaps cut down on the milk some and bake a bit longer. I like spicy and dense pie. This has potential, it's not "fluffy," but as written it's not quite cooked at the end of the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I made this recipe for my pregnant wife and she absolutely loved it. I added a little extra puree and cinnamon and made two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeahman99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is the best pie I have ever tasted! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Delicious!! Regular pumpkin pie is way too plain, this is just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I think with the cream and milk it was lighter than the normal condensed milk version and it was much superior to the evaporated milk versions I have tried, where the evaporated milk is easily identified with the pumpkin and spices. My pie was very bland but I am certain this had something to do with the lacklustre canned pumpkin I used. I will try it again and use fresh pumpkin next time. I will also use all brown sugar to bring out the spices. I found it was (too?) sweet, but needed more spice to give it that pumpkin pie warmth we expect from a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My husband and myself loved the spicies flavor on this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Delicious and perfectly spiced. I used 2c of evaperated milk instead of the milk and cream, which was slightly more than 1 can. Worked out fine but was a bit creamy for me. Next time I will use 1 can. Taste was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States