Spicy Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I give this recipe 4 starts but my fudge was worth 5 stars. It's was sooo good but I had to make changes to accomplish it. I read the reviews of others and took some advice from each to create my own. I doubled the pumpkin to 1 cup and the pumpkin spice to 1 tablespoon. I used 1 cup of white chocolate chips and 1 cup of cinnamon chips which made it really yummy I thought. I lessened the sugar to two cups. I kept the butter, marshmellow and vanilla the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I was a little nervous about trying this recipe however, I was pleasantly surprised at how my fudge turned out. I did cut down the butter to 1/2 cup and increased the pumpkin to 1 cup as recommended by some of the other reviewers. I also increased the pumpkin pie spice by about 1/4 of a teaspoon and added another 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. I used a candy thermometer but did stop stirring before the 234 degree mark because my arm was getting tired!! (I think I was at about 228.)I also used the white chocolate chips --2cups--verses the butterscotch morsels. I added these 1/3 of a bag at a time, to minimize the chance that the mixture would seize and turn to sugar. My fudge turned out very smooth and creamy. This fudge has a nice taste and creamy texture and is a wonderful flavor for the fall season. It is VERY sweet so small pieces are plenty. My family and I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
If you want the pumpkin flavor to come through, use vanilla baking chips or white chocolate chips. Then, the recipe is a 5 star for me. The butterscotch chips are too dominating and the pumkin flavor just can't come through. I prefer this without the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was such a unique fudge! It's very existence warrants 5 stars even if I made some changes. Okay, so here they are: I used rice krispies instead of almonds. After absorbing the moisture of the fudge, the rice krispies added a texture not unlike coconut, but it was still nice. I used 1/2 cup butter to insure that the fudge set-up and was happy with the drop in fat. I used 1 whole cup of canned pumpkin, which really added to the overall pumpkin flavor. I omitted the butterscotch chips altogether (nobody seemed to like them so I just did it) and used 1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips and 1/2 cup cinnamon chips. The fudge ultimately came out tasting a lot like pumpkin pie without the awful consistency. I did not have a candy thermometer so the first time I made this, it came out the consistency of granola or small grain gravel. It wasn't until later that I realized that you have to boil it over medium (not high) heat. The 2nd time around, after that adjustment, the fudge turned out great. I boiled over medium-high heat ("7") for 11 minutes (just to be safe) and had no problems. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BC ByH2O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Used white chocolate chips. Would have been wonderful, if it would have ever set up. Tried to make it 3 separate times. Will try one more time before giving up on the recipe. Follow Up. 11/14/06. I used one stick of butter and half white/half butterscotch chips, and it set up perfectly. Great Recipe. I even got the compliment from someone who didn't want to swallow the fudge because it tasted so good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was the first time I made fudge - even without a thermometer! (Boiled it for 10 minutes.) I used cinnamon chips instead of butterscotch because I like a lot of spice, and the fudge came out incredible! This morning I brought some to work and dropped some of at my sister's house - and in two hours, I've given the recipe out to 8 people. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This is a great recipe! I halfed the butter, left out a cup of sugar, and used half white choc. chips instead of all butterscotch. I also left out the almonds (didn't have any) but I threw in some Rice Krispies just for kicks and it was great! Even with reducing the sugar it's still super rich, so you could probably cut back even more if you feel so inclined :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I really liked this recipe, though it took 2 attempts. The first time, it just didn't set. The second time I used only one stick of butter. As suggested by others, I used 1 cup of butterscotch chips and 1 cup of white chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I started making this last year at Thanksgiving and it has been a hit every time. Be extremely careful with the 234 degree temp or it won't be the right consistency. I always use 1 c. butterscotch and 2 c. white chocolate chips because I don't like the butterscotch flavor as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This fudge has a great texture and consistency, but the butterscotch is very strong and it overwhelms the pumpkin. Next time, I will use vanilla chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States